Community
Inventor Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Inventor Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Advanced Assembly Motion

10 REPLIES 10
SOLVED
Message 1 of 11
adnewhouse
1191 Views, 10 Replies

Advanced Assembly Motion

I'm a bit of a newbie, but before I jump into a new project I want to know if it is even possible. The object I'm trying to model is called a Hoberman sphere. It looks like this:

Hoberman+Sphere-Rings.jpg

(High-Rez: http://store.metmuseum.org/content/ebiz/themetstore/invt/80017595/80017595_1_l.jpg)

I know that I can probably model it but I want to know if motion would work. Is it even possible to model somthing like this in inventor?

System specs:

AMD FX-6100 proccesor

8Gb Ram

Nvidia GTX-550Ti Graphics Card 

10 REPLIES 10
Message 2 of 11
JDMather
in reply to: adnewhouse

I modeled a Hobermans's Sphere in Inventor back in 2002.

It is not an easy project.

If you are a student I recommend you pick something easier.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2019 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional

Message 3 of 11
LT.Rusty
in reply to: JDMather

So that's what those are called.  I picked one of those up from one of the vendors in the exhibit hall at AU2012, had no idea what it was, other than a somewhat entertaining toy.  🙂

Like JD said, that's probably a little more complex than you want to tackle as a n00b.  I recommend finding blueprints for something online, something that's relatively well documented, and that there are plenty of photo references available for, and building that to start with.

Rusty

EESignature

Message 4 of 11
JDMather
in reply to: LT.Rusty

I attended a conference years ago where Hoberman was the presenter.