Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
ADNpati
Posts: 126
Registered: ‎07-01-2012
Message 1 of 5 (1,278 Views)
Accepted Solution

.adsklib

1278 Views, 4 Replies
09-09-2012 03:48 PM

Hi There,

 

Is there any way we can use .adsklib (library file from inventor) from inventor in 3ds max as mateliarl library???

Please help me with this.

 

Thanks..

 

Mechanical Engineer
Inventor Applications Engineer

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

If my solution seems to remedy your problem, please press the Accept Solution button, Some KUDOS -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

we cant use .adsklib in max but I found a way to get custom inventor materials to 3ds max matelrials and to layers

 

we have to use STANDARD AUTODESK MATERIAL items.

Copy a STANDARD AUTODESK MATERIAL and remane it required custom name and flick with changes you want. 

 

And when you open the Inventor file with custom materials applied in 3ds max, you will see the Autodesk standard material name in layers and you can do from there

 

If anybody want a detail procedure reply me.

Distinguished Contributor
bward
Posts: 207
Registered: ‎07-26-2006
Message 2 of 5 (1,179 Views)

Re: .adsklib

11-06-2012 12:08 PM in reply to: ADNpati

To pile on this question, can I export a DWG 3D file from Revit and provide a person using 3D Max the adsklib file and have the materials mapped?

Distinguished Contributor
ADNpati
Posts: 126
Registered: ‎07-01-2012
Message 3 of 5 (1,077 Views)

Re: .adsklib

12-11-2012 04:53 PM in reply to: ADNpati

we cant use .adsklib in max but I found a way to get custom inventor materials to 3ds max matelrials and to layers

 

we have to use STANDARD AUTODESK MATERIAL items.

Copy a STANDARD AUTODESK MATERIAL and remane it required custom name and flick with changes you want. 

 

And when you open the Inventor file with custom materials applied in 3ds max, you will see the Autodesk standard material name in layers and you can do from there

 

If anybody want a detail procedure reply me.

Mechanical Engineer
Inventor Applications Engineer

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

If my solution seems to remedy your problem, please press the Accept Solution button, Some KUDOS -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Contributor
mitcham_boy
Posts: 24
Registered: ‎10-19-2012
Message 4 of 5 (441 Views)

Re: .adsklib

02-24-2014 03:14 AM in reply to: ADNpati
Hi ADNpati ..
Let me see if i understand correct ..
So i rename and edit a standard material to make it customised. When i open the file in 3DS i lose the customisation but the original standard material definition is retained.
Have i understood correct?
Distinguished Contributor
ADNpati
Posts: 126
Registered: ‎07-01-2012
Message 5 of 5 (423 Views)

Re: .adsklib

02-25-2014 01:52 PM in reply to: mitcham_boy

Hey,

 

Yes, thats correct. you will see Autodesk Standard Material name in Autodesk 3ds max Layers. 

 

 

If my solution seems to remedy your problem, Some KUDOS..!!

Mechanical Engineer
Inventor Applications Engineer

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

If my solution seems to remedy your problem, please press the Accept Solution button, Some KUDOS -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post