Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
New Member
cratetechdesign
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎11-22-2011
Message 1 of 4 (144 Views)

addition of (For Drawing)

144 Views, 3 Replies
03-06-2012 11:40 AM

I was working within a model already on file.  I made numerous change to the original model (and didn't save= first mistake).  I then imported a hinge file that contained two parts.  I place both parts in the model seperately.  I then constrained them to one piece within the original model.  I then created a piece of sheet metal.  I tried to manipulate the sheet metal with a flange, and it would not allow me to select an edge.  I then tried to constrain the imported hinge part to the new sheet metal, and it would not allow me to select the hinge part.  I thought it might be a glitch, so I saved, closed out, and reopened the file.  (second mistake.)  It was after I reopened the file that I noticed that it now says (For Drawing) after the file name.  Because I saved and reopened the file, I cannot back up to where this is not the case.  How do I get back to being able to manipulate the model?  Please help!  I'm on a deadline.

*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 28,056
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 2 of 4 (124 Views)

Re: addition of (For Drawing)

03-06-2012 01:30 PM in reply to: cratetechdesign

cratetechdesign wrote:

 Please help!  I'm on a deadline.


Attach your file(s) here.

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015-SP1 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
New Member
cratetechdesign
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎11-22-2011
Message 3 of 4 (97 Views)

Re: addition of (For Drawing)

03-07-2012 08:20 AM in reply to: cratetechdesign

Oh nevermind!  That is my own stupidity going on!  (For Drawing) is a level of drawing.  I'm still not sure why I'm having problem manipulating, but it has nothing to do with the (For Drawing).

*Expert Elite*
CelticDesignServices
Posts: 518
Registered: ‎11-29-2011
Message 4 of 4 (90 Views)

Re: addition of (For Drawing)

03-07-2012 08:25 AM in reply to: cratetechdesign

OK, I'm totally confused on this one.

Are you still having issues trying to modify the model?

 

Sounds more like a process issues as opposed to a software issue.

New EE Logo.PNG


Inventor.PNG     vault.PNG



Jim
Celtic Design Services, LLC

Inventor/AutoCAD/Vault WorkGroups
Always for hire - celticdesign01ATyahooDOTcom
https://www.facebook.com/pages/Celtic-Design-Services-LLC/184666001666426
==========================================================
Please use the "Accept as Solution" and "Give Kudos" functions as appropriate to further enhance the value of these forums.

Go raibh maith agat (in other words...Thank you!)
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!