Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Active Contributor
49 Posts
1 Kudo
Registered: ‎01-29-2008
Post 1 of 9

Adding pipe flange studs/nuts

1309 Views, 8 Replies
08-25-2009 08:35 AM
What's the best way to populate the studs and nuts on a flanged connection in tube/pipe? Can studs be added to the bolted connection content?

2010 Routed Systems
Inventor Professional 2014 Build 222
Dell Precision T3500, Intel Xeon W3550 3.07 GHz, 12GB RAM, Win7 SP1
Employee
115 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎04-06-2008
Post 2 of 9

Re: Adding pipe flange studs/nuts

08-28-2009 12:33 AM in reply to: jasonh70
Hello,

If you place one stud in Content Center and autodrap with pattern to the hole of flange, all studs could be inserted on the holes of flange.

It seems stud can not be applied in Bolt Connection. But you could author the custom stud via Component Authoring tool and publish them to Content Center.

Hope it helps you,

Thanks,
Ruth
*Expert Elite*
3,510 Posts
866 Kudos
Registered: ‎04-06-2010
Post 3 of 9

Re: Adding pipe flange studs/nuts

04-28-2011 11:35 AM in reply to: ruth-chunhua.hu

2 years and at least 2 releases ago, and STILL studs are not allowed in the Bolted Connections.  Auto dropping studs, (after first having to create, author and then publish them as they are NOT included in CC), washers and nuts on each and every flange in a piping system that may include hundreds if not thousands of flanges.... is not going to be very productive. 

 

And yes, I will post this in the wish list.  I'm just venting.  Sorry.  Everyone go back to your knitting.

ChrisB / Twitter

ADSK_Expert_Elite_Icon_S_Color_Blk.png

Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution &Give Kudos!Kudos to further enhance the value of these forums. Thank you! :smileyhappy:

http://cadtipstricks.wordpress.com//


   

Valued Contributor
80 Posts
4 Kudos
Registered: ‎11-01-2006
Post 4 of 9

Re: Adding pipe flange studs/nuts

04-30-2011 12:45 PM in reply to: jasonh70

Add one more vote for studs, please.

In my experience in chemical and pulp/paper industries, they're often preferred for piping due to more even torquing.

Todd

Product Design Suite Ultimate 2012 / Subscription
Win 7/64
Dell Precision 670 / 8GB NVIDIA Quadro FX4500
Dell Precision M90 / 4GB NVIDIA Quadro MX2500
Active Contributor
26 Posts
4 Kudos
Registered: ‎02-28-2011
Post 5 of 9

Re: Adding pipe flange studs/nuts

05-01-2011 09:43 PM in reply to: jasonh70

Count me IN.  We deal most of our job using Stud Bolt connection as a standard connection on piping (Mining Industry).  Including this feature in INV will be very very advantagous ( Saves time & effort ).  Why is it not included anyway? it is actually a typical connection. :smileysad:

 

Valued Mentor
526 Posts
65 Kudos
Registered: ‎08-19-2008
Post 6 of 9

Re: Adding pipe flange studs/nuts

02-13-2012 08:11 PM in reply to: jasonh70

another year...another release...still no stud bolts !!!!????

CAD Management 101:
You can do it your own way,
If its done just how I say!
[Metallica:And Justice For All:1988]
*Expert Elite*
3,510 Posts
866 Kudos
Registered: ‎04-06-2010
Post 7 of 9

Re: Adding pipe flange studs/nuts

02-14-2012 05:15 AM in reply to: Rich.O.3d

After much trial and error I was able to create and publish a stud that works with bolted connections.  I had to convince it that it was actually a hex head bolt.  The trial and error was in determining a distance off the end of the stud to use as the insertion point.  IV thinks everything beyond that point is the hex head.  I had to play around with it to make sure I left enough room for washer and nut... and still have at least some thread sticking out so it looked realistic.  We place them in our piping assemblies only for a count... so it didn't need to be perfect.

 

Once I published the part, I combined elements of it's family table with some from a hex bolt FT I had opened in Excel and saved to my desktop.  That way I was able to add all of the sizes without having to type them all... I did a lot of copy and paste.

 

I'm attaching the ipart and an excel spreadsheet here.  (IV 2011 Pro) If you publish this part and then edit the family table, and paste the contents of the spreadsheet.... well, I can't make any guarentees but it might work.  I may have had to do some other tweaks that I can't recall right now.  Worth a shot?  Publish it to the Hex Head bolts folder in your CC.  IV has to think it is a hex bolt.

 

Good luck.

ChrisB / Twitter

ADSK_Expert_Elite_Icon_S_Color_Blk.png

Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution &Give Kudos!Kudos to further enhance the value of these forums. Thank you! :smileyhappy:

http://cadtipstricks.wordpress.com//


   

Distinguished Contributor
148 Posts
88 Kudos
Registered: ‎07-09-2008
Post 8 of 9

Re: Adding pipe flange studs/nuts

09-10-2012 06:36 AM in reply to: cbenner

Another vote from this side! Integrate studbolts in the Bolted Connection Generator! At this moment we aren't using the BCG (Bolted Connection Generator) but insert the studbolts manually. It has occured several times now that after altering the distance between the washers, we forgot to increase/decrease the length of the used studbolt. Tried with Autolimits to warn the CAD-designers when difference between distances was too low, but to use this method consumes lot's of time, and it doesn't work when we choose studs with a different diameter. With other words, this has cost us money for buying new studbolts! :smileyfrustrated: I don't mind researching how I can solve this by tweaking standard CC-components, but a structural solution for this problem should be implemented yesterday.

Product Design Suite 2014
Inventor 2014, Vault 2014
HP Workstation Z220
Intel Xeon 3.4GHz
16GB RAM
Nvidia Quadro 4000
Windows 7 Professional (64bit)
Contributor
19 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎09-12-2013
Post 9 of 9

Re: Adding pipe flange studs/nuts

10-22-2013 06:00 PM in reply to: miechh

We need stud bolts, We need stud bolts, We need stud bolts ...

AutoCAD LT 2014 ~ Inventor 2014
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are you interested in helping shape the future of the Autodesk Community? To participate in this brief usability study, please click here. Your time and input is greatly appreciated!