Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
Raider_007
Posts: 485
Registered: ‎08-22-2006
Message 1 of 10 (1,297 Views)

3D Monitor/TV/Projector

1297 Views, 9 Replies
10-26-2012 07:38 AM

Hi guys is there a way of viewing your Inventor models in full 3D on a 3D TV/Monitor/Projector? Obviously with a quadro VGA Card and glasses... Is it posible and how can this be set up?

 

Thanks

Pieter

Mentor
Doug_DuPont
Posts: 222
Registered: ‎09-23-2008
Message 2 of 10 (1,289 Views)

Re: 3D Monitor/TV/Projector

10-26-2012 08:14 AM in reply to: Raider_007

You might to check this out.

You have to take your model into Showcase.

 

http://labs.autodesk.com/utilities/showcase_ar

Douglas DuPont
Inventor 2013
GeForce GTX 580
Windows 7 64 Bit
Distinguished Contributor
Ryan.Martinez
Posts: 141
Registered: ‎07-29-2011
Message 3 of 10 (1,284 Views)

Re: 3D Monitor/TV/Projector

10-26-2012 08:23 AM in reply to: Doug_DuPont

I saw something like this at AU last year. It was a walk through of a bus and you used an xbox control to move your P.O.V. around. I don't remember the name of the software though.

PDS 2014
PDS 2015
Distinguished Contributor
Raider_007
Posts: 485
Registered: ‎08-22-2006
Message 4 of 10 (1,280 Views)

Re: 3D Monitor/TV/Projector

10-26-2012 08:29 AM in reply to: Raider_007

The thing is that we have a 3D projector with glasses and when we start Inventor it sees it as a 2D image. Is there a setting or something you can set to enable the 3D vision? I am new to this so dont know where to start.

The whole setup works well with 3D movies etc but how to convert the Inventor 3D model to be the correct source...

*Expert Elite*
DarrenP
Posts: 7,686
Registered: ‎09-13-2007
Message 5 of 10 (1,272 Views)

Re: 3D Monitor/TV/Projector

10-26-2012 08:38 AM in reply to: Raider_007

i think you would have to use other software like showcase, 3ds max or maya

or a 3rd party add on for inventor if there is one

Distinguished Contributor
Raider_007
Posts: 485
Registered: ‎08-22-2006
Message 6 of 10 (1,263 Views)

Re: 3D Monitor/TV/Projector

10-26-2012 09:15 AM in reply to: Raider_007
Hi thanks for all the replies so far but it sounds like this is not done easilly. I find it hard to believe that you cannot use a 3D TV or Projector with a 3D application like Inventor.
Distinguished Contributor
Ryan.Martinez
Posts: 141
Registered: ‎07-29-2011
Message 7 of 10 (1,257 Views)

Re: 3D Monitor/TV/Projector

10-26-2012 09:23 AM in reply to: Raider_007

There are more important things that need to be fixed with inventor before AD adds features like this.

PDS 2014
PDS 2015
*Expert Elite*
DarrenP
Posts: 7,686
Registered: ‎09-13-2007
Message 8 of 10 (1,253 Views)

Re: 3D Monitor/TV/Projector

10-26-2012 09:33 AM in reply to: Ryan.Martinez

if you have product design standard or higher you have access to showcase

*Expert Elite*
mrattray
Posts: 2,538
Registered: ‎09-13-2011
Message 9 of 10 (1,247 Views)

Re: 3D Monitor/TV/Projector

10-26-2012 09:42 AM in reply to: Raider_007

Just because it's a 3D model doesn't mean it can be displayed in 3D. As similar as the two things may sound, they are actually quite different.

Mike (not Matt) Rattray

Distinguished Contributor
Raider_007
Posts: 485
Registered: ‎08-22-2006
Message 10 of 10 (1,227 Views)

Re: 3D Monitor/TV/Projector

10-26-2012 11:55 AM in reply to: Raider_007
I see it looks like Navisworks and Showcase has a stereoscopic output function. Anyway its a pitty Inventor doesnt support it.
I will keep on digging and see what I find.
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.