Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
dbrblg
Posts: 314
Registered: ‎10-10-2007
Message 1 of 13 (350 Views)

2D to 3D

350 Views, 12 Replies
09-12-2012 07:38 AM

Hi,

 

I am looking for a 2D to 3D tool for inventor.  According to some posts there is a tool at Autodesk Labs but this appears to have been discontinued.

 

Are there any tutorials / videos of how to achieve this goal now?

 

Thanks

*Pro
jletcher
Posts: 1,946
Registered: ‎05-18-2011
Message 2 of 13 (347 Views)

Re: 2D to 3D

09-12-2012 07:42 AM in reply to: dbrblg

Are you trying to take your autocad data and make it 3D in Inventor?


Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.

James Letcher
2012 Factory Design Suite ( will not load 2013)
What happen to my Inventor :-(
Distinguished Contributor
dbrblg
Posts: 314
Registered: ‎10-10-2007
Message 3 of 13 (341 Views)

Re: 2D to 3D

09-12-2012 07:48 AM in reply to: jletcher

I certainly am :smileyhappy:

*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 26,536
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 4 of 13 (340 Views)

Re: 2D to 3D

09-12-2012 07:49 AM in reply to: dbrblg

You can simply copy and paste into your Inventor sketches.

I would immediately convert to Inventor Sketch Blocks.

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Distinguished Contributor
dbrblg
Posts: 314
Registered: ‎10-10-2007
Message 5 of 13 (329 Views)

Re: 2D to 3D

09-12-2012 08:10 AM in reply to: dbrblg

I've never used sketch blocks before but from what I can see it is only good for flat extrusions.  What happens if I want to extrude something which is round on both the X and Y axis?

 

Thanks

*Pro
jletcher
Posts: 1,946
Registered: ‎05-18-2011
Message 6 of 13 (327 Views)

Re: 2D to 3D

09-12-2012 08:11 AM in reply to: dbrblg

Well I don't recommand using autocad sketches much but if you do do what JD said.

 

You will find more issues doing this than to just redraw with Inventor. :smileyhappy:


Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.

James Letcher
2012 Factory Design Suite ( will not load 2013)
What happen to my Inventor :-(
*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 26,536
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 7 of 13 (324 Views)

Re: 2D to 3D

09-12-2012 08:13 AM in reply to: dbrblg

dbrblg wrote:

  What happens if I want to extrude something which is round on both the X and Y axis?

 

Thanks


I don't recall ever seeing an extrusion like this.

Attach the dwg here.

 

In any case, I'm pretty sure that labs add-in would have only automated what I just described - copy and paste into sketch.

It was not an Easy Button that would magically produce 3D geometry.

As jim noted - most find AutoCAD stuff to be not of the best quality on import and usually just start from scratch in Inventor using the AutoCAD only for reference.  If you did the AutoCAD work - and know it is good quality, then use it.  Otherwise expect to find a lot of fudge.

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Distinguished Contributor
dbrblg
Posts: 314
Registered: ‎10-10-2007
Message 8 of 13 (322 Views)

Re: 2D to 3D

09-12-2012 08:13 AM in reply to: jletcher

After looking around, I'm beginning to think it would be easier to redraw.

 

Its a real shame Autodesk decided to retire the 2D to 3D tool....:smileymad:

Distinguished Contributor
dbrblg
Posts: 314
Registered: ‎10-10-2007
Message 9 of 13 (312 Views)

Re: 2D to 3D

09-12-2012 08:20 AM in reply to: JDMather

Here is an example of what I am looking at....

*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 26,536
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 10 of 13 (294 Views)

Re: 2D to 3D

09-12-2012 08:42 AM in reply to: dbrblg

I think it would take significantly less time to create from scratch than to use that labs tool to import.

I was thinking  you were using far far more complex geometry.

 

See attached Inventor ipt example file.

 

As I suspected - one of the dimensions does not make logical sense.  And the AutoCAD information is incomplete or confusing (see extrusion feature).  (as jim just confirmed in his response)

 

Example.png

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.