Inventor General Discussion

Reply
*Pro
jletcher
Posts: 1,983
Registered: ‎05-18-2011
Message 11 of 13 (135 Views)

Re: 2D to 3D

09-12-2012 08:44 AM in reply to: dbrblg

I looked at you sample can you explain what it is to be honest I cant tell.. :smileyhappy:


Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.

James Letcher
2012 Factory Design Suite ( will not load 2013)
What happen to my Inventor :-(
*Expert Elite*
mrattray
Posts: 2,513
Registered: ‎09-13-2011
Message 12 of 13 (121 Views)

Re: 2D to 3D

09-12-2012 10:21 AM in reply to: dbrblg

The tool didn't work very well anyways. I know, I tried using it myself and was quickly frustrated. In the end, unless you have way complex geometery, you're much better off drawing it from scratch in Inventor. You'll find it to be faster and resulting in a better, friendlier model.

The fact is, there's just too much different about drawing in AutoCAD versus drawing in Inventor for there to ever be an easy button.

Mike (not Matt) Rattray

Distinguished Contributor
dbrblg
Posts: 330
Registered: ‎10-10-2007
Message 13 of 13 (88 Views)

Re: 2D to 3D

09-12-2012 11:05 PM in reply to: JDMather

The dimension does not make much sense as this was quickly bashed together, from the original, for demonstration purposes :smileyhappy:

 

Thanks guys, for your opinions.  We'll have to look at each drawing and decide whether it is worth using Inventor Sketches or redrawing....I suspect the later in most cases.

 

 

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!