Inventor General Discussion

Reply
*Expert Elite*
karthur1
Posts: 4,207
Registered: ‎04-27-2005
Message 1 of 4 (547 Views)

2013 WorkPlane Edit Dimension

547 Views, 3 Replies
05-19-2012 12:24 PM

I have three workplanes.  All three were created the same way (offsetting an existing workplane).  I want to change the offset dimension.  I can on one of the planes, but on the other two, I have to "Redefine Feature".  There is no Edit dimension available in the menu.

 

One plane like this:

 

2012-05-19_1413.png

 

Two planes like this:

 

2012-05-19_1414.png

 

Why is it different?

Mentor
trumpy81
Posts: 317
Registered: ‎10-22-2006
Message 2 of 4 (528 Views)

Re: 2013 WorkPlane Edit Dimension

05-19-2012 09:26 PM in reply to: karthur1

Have you tried double clicking on the plane to see if it brings up the edit dialog?

Regards
Andy M
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2013 Pro SP1.1, Win7 Pro - 64Bit - SP1, Intel i7 960 @ 3.333 GHz
Asus X58 Sabertooth, Corsair 12Gig DDR3, AMD Radeon HD6970, Samsung 830 Series 256G SSD, 2x 3TB Seagate, 2x 2TB Hitachi,
1x 1TB Samsung, 4 x 2TB Seagate in Netgear ReadyNAS NV+, Dual Asus VE278Q Monitors
*Expert Elite*
karthur1
Posts: 4,207
Registered: ‎04-27-2005
Message 3 of 4 (508 Views)

Re: 2013 WorkPlane Edit Dimension

05-21-2012 05:42 AM in reply to: trumpy81

Double clicking on the plane does nothing.  I know it should show me the dimension so I can edit it, but it doesnt.  I have to "redefine" the workplane.

 

After I redefine them, then I can double click the plane or right-click and choose "edit dim".

 

I come across parts all the time like this... its not just this one.

*Expert Elite*
Mark_Flayler
Posts: 1,465
Registered: ‎07-30-2007
Message 4 of 4 (496 Views)

Re: 2013 WorkPlane Edit Dimension

05-21-2012 09:04 AM in reply to: karthur1

With 2013 they added the Edit Dimension to the mini toolbar pop up in canvas.  Click on the offset WP in the graphics screen and see if you have the little toolbar to choose Edit Dimension.

Mark Flayler Application Engineer - Manufacturing Solutions Division
IMAGINiT's Manufacturing Solutions Blog:
http://blogs.rand.com/manufacturing/
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.