Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Valued Mentor
SeanFarr
Posts: 475
Registered: ‎07-25-2012
Message 1 of 5 (506 Views)
Accepted Solution

2013 - Styles Conflict - How to set-up a style

506 Views, 4 Replies
04-05-2013 10:35 AM

Using Inventor 2013 Professional,

 

How can I fix my conflict styles?

 

I have two .idw templates (2 divisions with company) with a custom title-block. The only reason I edited the styles in the first place was because my drawings looked like they were drawn with crayons. I edited the layers sections and changed a bunch of line widths to my liking. hit update, and save and thought all was well. But everytime I open my template I get this prompt:

styles_conflict.png

 


It says the template is different than the definitions in the style library, and therefore the style library will be used. How can i edit the style library to match what I want in my template?

 

Thanks!!

 

Sean Farr

Sean Farr
Product Designer at TESInc.ca

Inventor Professional 2014-Update 2 - AutoCAD Electrical 2014
Win7-x64 | ASUS P8Z77-V | i7 3770 -3.4 GHz | 32GB RAM |
240GB SSD | nVidia GTX 670 4GB - 320.49

If you want to make the template styles the active ones simply open the template and hit the "save" button on the "manage" tab (styles and standards section)

 

If you want the style library standard to be active then open the template and hit the update button in that same area.

 

That note is just telling you that they don't match.

*Expert Elite*
mcgyvr
Posts: 7,248
Registered: ‎12-01-2004
Message 2 of 5 (502 Views)

Re: 2013 - Styles Conflict - How to set-up a style

04-05-2013 10:38 AM in reply to: SeanFarr

If you want to make the template styles the active ones simply open the template and hit the "save" button on the "manage" tab (styles and standards section)

 

If you want the style library standard to be active then open the template and hit the update button in that same area.

 

That note is just telling you that they don't match.

Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
2015 Product Design Suite Ultimate
Windows 7 64 bit
Core i7 4820k processor (OC'd to 4.4Ghz), Nvidia GTX 770, 16G RAM


Valued Mentor
SeanFarr
Posts: 475
Registered: ‎07-25-2012
Message 3 of 5 (500 Views)

Re: 2013 - Styles Conflict - How to set-up a style

04-05-2013 10:40 AM in reply to: mcgyvr

I pressed the save button, but there is nothing in the window to save? or do I press save and ok anyways??

save-styles.png

 

Thanks!

 

Sean

Sean Farr
Product Designer at TESInc.ca

Inventor Professional 2014-Update 2 - AutoCAD Electrical 2014
Win7-x64 | ASUS P8Z77-V | i7 3770 -3.4 GHz | 32GB RAM |
240GB SSD | nVidia GTX 670 4GB - 320.49
Active Contributor
LewisLusby
Posts: 29
Registered: ‎08-13-2012
Message 4 of 5 (415 Views)

Re: 2013 - Styles Conflict - How to set-up a style

04-30-2013 08:41 PM in reply to: SeanFarr

Did you find the solution Sean? It's bugging me also, same idw template, 3 different users on 3 different pc's, 2 have different style conflict warnings and the last user gets nothing. Come on Autodesk!

Valued Mentor
SeanFarr
Posts: 475
Registered: ‎07-25-2012
Message 5 of 5 (401 Views)

Re: 2013 - Styles Conflict - How to set-up a style

05-01-2013 03:44 AM in reply to: LewisLusby

Actually pressing save on the empty screen worked for me,

 

I don't quite understand how the styles worked, but here is what was happening to me.

The default drawing template looks like it was drawn with crayons, the line widths were huge when printing, so i made changes to the layers in the style library to adjust these line widths, after the changes we done, I would press save here:

styles_conflict-2.png

 

then re-save the template file. I figured all was good.

 

But the next time I opened the drawing template, that message box appeared with all the conflict issues.

 

But as mcgyvr suggested, simply press save again,(even if the window is empty) and then re-save the template, and I don't get the prompt anymore.

 

haha, so workflow for me that works is

 

make style changes,

save style change

save template

open template

save style changes again

save template file

and now the template file should be ok...

 

As I said, I have no idea, but this is how I have it working.

 

Good Luck

Sean Farr
Product Designer at TESInc.ca

Inventor Professional 2014-Update 2 - AutoCAD Electrical 2014
Win7-x64 | ASUS P8Z77-V | i7 3770 -3.4 GHz | 32GB RAM |
240GB SSD | nVidia GTX 670 4GB - 320.49
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.