Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Valued Contributor
eman6398
Posts: 83
Registered: ‎05-23-2007
Message 1 of 16 (919 Views)

2013 model section view

919 Views, 15 Replies
05-11-2012 07:35 AM

When I do a half section view in an assembly, it works untill I hit escape or a measuring operation. Once the command is started the half section turns back to no section or the sold part. Is this how it is suppose to work in this version? In 2012 the section would stick so you could measure and even constrain parts.

Dell t1500 i7 8 gb ram
Windows 7 64 bit
ati firepro v4800

Valued Contributor
lester
Posts: 86
Registered: ‎11-06-2007
Message 2 of 16 (909 Views)

Re: 2013 model section view

05-11-2012 08:36 AM in reply to: eman6398

after you do the section and you click on the white arrowwhich is continue, then you have to hit enter key or right click and click OK.

Or you can press enter key after the section. But there is no enter key for the mouse.

I'm still trying to understand the reason for this.

Valued Contributor
eman6398
Posts: 83
Registered: ‎05-23-2007
Message 3 of 16 (906 Views)

Re: 2013 model section view

05-11-2012 09:01 AM in reply to: eman6398

Thanks for the info! I dont see why autodesk seems to want to double the amount of mouse clicks to operate this software. It only just slows us down.

Dell t1500 i7 8 gb ram
Windows 7 64 bit
ati firepro v4800

Contributor
gcook
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎10-16-2002
Message 4 of 16 (867 Views)

Re: 2013 model section view

05-16-2012 11:48 AM in reply to: eman6398

This is retarded behavious that can only be described as a bug.  Could someone at Adesk please fix this.

 

Regards,

 

Gary

Active Contributor
prachu
Posts: 29
Registered: ‎05-14-2010
Message 5 of 16 (822 Views)

Re: 2013 model section view

05-31-2012 07:34 AM in reply to: eman6398

This is annoying...I don't know that adding clicks to accomplish something that used to be doable with less is ever a good idea.

Mentor
trumpy81
Posts: 317
Registered: ‎10-22-2006
Message 6 of 16 (803 Views)

Re: 2013 model section view

05-31-2012 12:36 PM in reply to: prachu

I have to agree with everyone on this point. It does not make any sense at all. You should be able to select the command, select a face or plane, drag it to the position you want and then be able to measure or sketch or any other operation without having to click anything other than the command you want.

 

This is related to my complaint of the Undo command cancelling the tool you are currently using, another PITA!

Regards
Andy M
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2013 Pro SP1.1, Win7 Pro - 64Bit - SP1, Intel i7 960 @ 3.333 GHz
Asus X58 Sabertooth, Corsair 12Gig DDR3, AMD Radeon HD6970, Samsung 830 Series 256G SSD, 2x 3TB Seagate, 2x 2TB Hitachi,
1x 1TB Samsung, 4 x 2TB Seagate in Netgear ReadyNAS NV+, Dual Asus VE278Q Monitors
Member
mfilipowicz
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎06-12-2012
Message 7 of 16 (773 Views)

Re: 2013 model section view

06-12-2012 11:07 AM in reply to: eman6398

Man,

   This is stupid, I agree with all of you about the extra click. Thanx for the info though, the work flow is so retarded I could not figure it out untill I searched for it and found this post.

FIX THIS AUTODESK!

Mark

*Expert Elite*
dan_inv09
Posts: 2,341
Registered: ‎12-12-2006
Message 8 of 16 (704 Views)

Re: 2013 model section view

07-23-2012 12:00 PM in reply to: mfilipowicz

Just want to and my vote for the

 

FIX THIS AUTODESK!

 

Very nice to add secret extra steps, thanks a lot for that.

 

Plus, I have to right click then select "OK (Enter)" which to me implies that Enter should work the same as the right clicking and selecting, but no matter how many times I hit Enter the command is not finished and I lose my section when I try to do something.

 

So I would just like to reiterate (again)

 

FIX THIS AUTODESK!

Active Contributor
prachu
Posts: 29
Registered: ‎05-14-2010
Message 9 of 16 (288 Views)

Re: 2013 model section view

08-27-2013 05:33 AM in reply to: eman6398

This appears to be fixed in 2014. A single right click > OK, or pressing Enter once is all that is needed now.

*Expert Elite*
dan_inv09
Posts: 2,341
Registered: ‎12-12-2006
Message 10 of 16 (277 Views)

Re: 2013 model section view

08-27-2013 08:22 AM in reply to: prachu

If I type "0" and hit Enter it goes, but it does not seem to be okay with just hitting Enter with the default "0.000 in" still in the field. Didn't you used to be able to just Enter to accept the default?

 

They did remove the superfluous Right Click - Okay (which said "Okay (Enter)" implying that Enter would accomplish the same thing, which it didn't) so I guess they can have a big "atta-boy" for that.

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!