Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Valued Contributor
Clarkeng09
Posts: 57
Registered: ‎06-07-2011
Message 1 of 16 (832 Views)
Accepted Solution

2013 Crash when changing the ribbon

832 Views, 15 Replies
10-12-2012 12:27 PM

Hello,

We just upgraded to 2013 software and anytime i change the ribbon to anything besides the default Inventor crashes. Does anyone know what may cause this.  Also anyone know when the update to sp1 will be out?

 

Thanks,

Steve

Windows 7 x64 -24 GB Ram
Intel i7-3840QM @ 2.8GHz
nVidia Quadro K5000M - 4GB
Inv 2013 SP2 Update 4
Vault Collaboration 2013 Update1

Yes I followed all the instructions for install, and with a bit of research with vault not working correctly either where it would show my folder structure but not any parts or anything I found my .NET framework was the wrong version.

 

For some reason I had .NET 4.5 beta installed and I guess inventor and vault don't like that so I had to uninstall vault and the framework and then reinstall vault which brought in the .NET 4.0.  This solved my vault issue as well as the inventor ribbon crashing issue.

 

Thanks for the help and suggestions.

 

Steve

Distinguished Mentor
john.retzlaff
Posts: 922
Registered: ‎11-03-2003
Message 2 of 16 (826 Views)

Re: 2013 Crash when changing the ribbon

10-12-2012 01:09 PM in reply to: Clarkeng09

Do you have the latest graphics drivers?

 

SP1.1 : http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/Autodesk-Inventor/Inventor-2013-SP1/td-p/3629426/page/5

John Retzlaff
Valued Contributor
Clarkeng09
Posts: 57
Registered: ‎06-07-2011
Message 3 of 16 (820 Views)

Re: 2013 Crash when changing the ribbon

10-12-2012 01:27 PM in reply to: john.retzlaff

Hi John,

Thanks for the response, it looks like my dirvers are up to date, but I did not check if my card is supported by this release.  I even changed my hardware settings to Compatable, however i can open models and drawings just fine.

 

We also did a clean install and the log file said everything was successful but I may try to reinstall and see if that helps.

 

Steve

Windows 7 x64 -24 GB Ram
Intel i7-3840QM @ 2.8GHz
nVidia Quadro K5000M - 4GB
Inv 2013 SP2 Update 4
Vault Collaboration 2013 Update1
Distinguished Mentor
john.retzlaff
Posts: 922
Registered: ‎11-03-2003
Message 4 of 16 (818 Views)

Re: 2013 Crash when changing the ribbon

10-12-2012 01:29 PM in reply to: Clarkeng09

Why not try a repair install first?

John Retzlaff
Valued Contributor
Clarkeng09
Posts: 57
Registered: ‎06-07-2011
Message 5 of 16 (816 Views)

Re: 2013 Crash when changing the ribbon

10-12-2012 01:34 PM in reply to: john.retzlaff

Yeah that would be my first choice over a complete reinstall.  If the update to the service pack is going to be released sometime next week I may wait for that and see if that helps.  I can work with it now, I'm just not use to how it looks but if I accidently hit the button while working I would loose everything I'm working on.

Windows 7 x64 -24 GB Ram
Intel i7-3840QM @ 2.8GHz
nVidia Quadro K5000M - 4GB
Inv 2013 SP2 Update 4
Vault Collaboration 2013 Update1
*Expert Elite*
blair
Posts: 4,139
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 6 of 16 (804 Views)

Re: 2013 Crash when changing the ribbon

10-12-2012 08:14 PM in reply to: Clarkeng09

You followed all the requirements for installation:

 

Admin user

UAC slider to lowest setting

Disabled A/V

Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below.

IV2015 SP1 PDSU / Sim Mech 2015 r1 /
Win7-64
EVGA X79 - Classified, iCore7 3930k 32Gb Quad-Channel
950Gb (2 x 500Gb Sata III SSD RAID0 Adaptec 6805E Controller)
Nvidia GTX-690 Classified - 340.52
SpacePilot Pro 3.17.7, 6.17., 4.11
Valued Contributor
Clarkeng09
Posts: 57
Registered: ‎06-07-2011
Message 7 of 16 (768 Views)

Re: 2013 Crash when changing the ribbon

10-15-2012 07:51 AM in reply to: blair

Yes I followed all the instructions for install, and with a bit of research with vault not working correctly either where it would show my folder structure but not any parts or anything I found my .NET framework was the wrong version.

 

For some reason I had .NET 4.5 beta installed and I guess inventor and vault don't like that so I had to uninstall vault and the framework and then reinstall vault which brought in the .NET 4.0.  This solved my vault issue as well as the inventor ribbon crashing issue.

 

Thanks for the help and suggestions.

 

Steve

Windows 7 x64 -24 GB Ram
Intel i7-3840QM @ 2.8GHz
nVidia Quadro K5000M - 4GB
Inv 2013 SP2 Update 4
Vault Collaboration 2013 Update1
Employee
rangt
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎06-17-2008
Message 8 of 16 (737 Views)

Re: 2013 Crash when changing the ribbon

10-17-2012 09:27 AM in reply to: Clarkeng09

Yes.  This was likely caused by the presence of .NET4.5 on your system.  We're currently working on an update for 2013 which will address problems related to 4.5.



Tom Rang
Software Quality Assurance Manager
DLS – Design, Lifecycle, & Simulation
Autodesk, Inc.

Active Contributor
mcolinp
Posts: 28
Registered: ‎02-08-2012
Message 9 of 16 (655 Views)

Re: 2013 Crash when changing the ribbon

11-15-2012 11:35 AM in reply to: Clarkeng09

I have been patiently waiting for a fix for this issue. I have installed all the latest service packs and hotfixes, and yet Inventor still crashes if I try to go to "Clean-Screen"/ "Tabs" / or "Titles". I prefer working in Title mode; because it is much better for screen real estate.

Just to clarify; I have installed Product Design Suite Ultimate on Windows 8; but beforehand I enabled the previous versions of .NET to be available. I had zero Install flags or errors; but this issue still persists. Am I the only one still suffering through this?

*Expert Elite*
blair
Posts: 4,139
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 10 of 16 (649 Views)

Re: 2013 Crash when changing the ribbon

11-15-2012 11:48 AM in reply to: Clarkeng09

You may in for a bit of a wait, if you are running Win8, you will need to wait a while until (maybe never) until a SP is available for IV2013 for Win8.

 

Trying to run on a O/S that is released after software is released is a good candidate for problems.

Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below.

IV2015 SP1 PDSU / Sim Mech 2015 r1 /
Win7-64
EVGA X79 - Classified, iCore7 3930k 32Gb Quad-Channel
950Gb (2 x 500Gb Sata III SSD RAID0 Adaptec 6805E Controller)
Nvidia GTX-690 Classified - 340.52
SpacePilot Pro 3.17.7, 6.17., 4.11
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.