Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
*Pro
Dennis_Jeffrey
Posts: 1,369
Registered: ‎12-15-2003
Message 11 of 45 (896 Views)

Re: 2012 Select Other Tool

06-30-2011 07:16 PM in reply to: scottmoyse

Sh..................   It's "New and Improved"........   can't you tell?

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
____________________________________________________________
Dennis Jeffrey, Author and Manufacturing Trainer, Autodesk Inventor Certified Expert
Autodesk Manufacturing Implementation Certified Expert
Autodesk Silver Manufacturing Partner

Subscribe to the free digital "The Creative Inventor Magazine" now available at: http://teknigroup....

XP64 SP2, GeForce 9800GT-1GB, Driver: 6.14.12.7061, 8GB Ram, AMD Athlon II 3.2 Ghz
Laptop: Win7-64 Pro, 4GB, ATI Graphics on board, 2012 Ultimate, IV2011 or 2010 Pro, all SP's
Distinguished Contributor
beau-tech
Posts: 105
Registered: ‎09-27-2008
Message 12 of 45 (869 Views)

Re: 2012 Select Other Tool

07-03-2011 09:56 AM in reply to: beau-tech

Me again. Please hotfix the select tool & 3d constraint issue asap (see my previous post). This is getting old, fast. I am making extra workplanes so I just constrain stuff. Should have waited for sp1.

*Expert Elite*
scottmoyse
Posts: 1,702
Registered: ‎06-10-2009
Message 13 of 45 (864 Views)

Re: 2012 Select Other Tool

07-03-2011 12:53 PM in reply to: beau-tech

for hot fix requests you should contact your reseller and support, then together with your reseller fill out a business case form to get the fix considered by Autodesk

Cheers
Scott Moyse

Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution &Give Kudos!Kudos to further enhance the value of these forums. Cheers!

New Member
bogdansoare3455
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎07-08-2011
Message 14 of 45 (801 Views)

Re: 2012 Select Other Tool

07-08-2011 03:15 AM in reply to: beau-tech

beau-tech wrote:

Just installed 2012 and am still getting used to the new select tool. When 3d constraining and selecting the second constraint I get a confirmation tone but the 'ok' or 'apply' buttons are not available. If possible I can orbit around and pick the same feature, not requiring the select tool, and the constraint works. This is a fresh install on a rebuilt hard drive.

 

If I am not the only one, hope that this gets fixed. Very time consuming.

 

Pete Beau

 

IV 2012 pro

win 7


I have the same annoying problem. even more: if i use amber icon color theme instead of cobalt icon color theme (which is the default inventor theme) the select other tool doesn't appear at all.

I hope that this will be fixed asap

 

IV 2012 pro

win xp 32 bit

Valued Contributor
ACEDeSmedt
Posts: 81
Registered: ‎11-30-2008
Message 15 of 45 (738 Views)

Re: 2012 Select Other Tool

08-05-2011 04:49 AM in reply to: beau-tech

You are not the only one having trouble selecting the second (or third) select-set using select other

 

try constraining cylinders, downloaded from Festo. The inner cylinder surface plane is impossible to constrain

 

hope this will be fixed soon!

If this is the solution, push the solution button :smileywink: (and maybe some kudos)
______________________________________________________
Autodesk Product Design Suit - Ultimate edition (Subscription)
Windows 7 (64bit) 12 Gb RAM - 2x Intel Xeon E5430
Contributor
dacton
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 16 of 45 (723 Views)

Re: 2012 Select Other Tool

08-05-2011 07:48 AM in reply to: randym1982

Select other tool is a pain, but mine issue also includes that even if I scroll or pull down and select the "other" object, even though it highlights, it may not select the other object.  I find myself needing to sometimes change the view slightly (orbit or similar) and starting the select other over again.  Like Inventor knows its there, but the database is not refreshed for the select other.  weird.

Distinguished Contributor
Vlad.Makarov
Posts: 190
Registered: ‎03-25-2009
Message 17 of 45 (703 Views)

Re: 2012 Select Other Tool

08-05-2011 11:17 AM in reply to: mcgyvr

mcgyvr wrote:

A while ago I posted some "Autodesk Mottos" that I can't find now but

1 was "2 mouse clicks must be better than 1"

and "If it ain't broke, lets change it"


You hit the mark on this!

______________
Inventor Pro 2012
Vault Pro 2012
*Expert Elite*
blair
Posts: 4,471
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 18 of 45 (681 Views)

Re: 2012 Select Other Tool

08-05-2011 02:29 PM in reply to: Vlad.Makarov

I have posted on this as well, Autodesk says there is a fix in the works...I keep checking each day.

Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below.

IV2015 SP1 PDSU / Sim Mech 2015 r1 /
Win7-64
EVGA X79 - Classified, iCore7 3930k 32Gb Quad-Channel
950Gb (2 x 500Gb Sata III SSD RAID0 Adaptec 6805E Controller)
Nvidia GTX-690 Classified - 344.75
SpacePilot Pro 10.2.0 / 17.2.0.11011 / 4.17
Delta Tau Chi ΔΤΧ
Contributor
feame
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎06-29-2011
Message 19 of 45 (625 Views)

Re: 2012 Select Other Tool

08-15-2011 05:16 PM in reply to: randym1982

Any update hotfixes yet?

The thing is riddled with other problems aside from the obvious, for example you can't constrain one part to another if the second part is a 'select other' face. It selects the face, and a part preview is shown, but the 'apply' button is unavailable so you have to cancel it which undoes the constarint.

 

*Expert Elite*
scottmoyse
Posts: 1,702
Registered: ‎06-10-2009
Message 20 of 45 (619 Views)

Re: 2012 Select Other Tool

08-15-2011 05:48 PM in reply to: feame

Service Pack 1 isn't too far away.

Cheers
Scott Moyse

Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution &Give Kudos!Kudos to further enhance the value of these forums. Cheers!

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.