Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
*Expert Elite*
mcgyvr
Posts: 7,247
Registered: ‎12-01-2004
Message 1 of 11 (691 Views)

2010 Application menu not responding

691 Views, 10 Replies
03-30-2009 08:01 AM
Haven't figured out the trigger yet but after working in INV for a little while the "Application Menu" (used to be the File menu) does not respond to clicking on any buttons...

Flyouts work but when you press the actual button nothing happens..

All other ribbon bar buttons function properly. Simply closing INV and restarting fixes the problem temporarily

Any ideas??

INV2010 Windows XP32 Latest SP Edited by: mcgyvr on Mar 30, 2009 11:04 AM
Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
2015 Product Design Suite Ultimate
Windows 7 64 bit
Core i7 4820k processor (OC'd to 4.4Ghz), Nvidia GTX 770, 16G RAM


*Expert Elite*
mcgyvr
Posts: 7,247
Registered: ‎12-01-2004
Message 2 of 11 (691 Views)

Re: 2010 Application menu not responding

03-30-2009 08:18 AM in reply to: mcgyvr
Little more information. Normally I have the ribbon bar set to "minimize to panel titles". Well after posting this and submitting a support request I changed that to the next setting and all the button clicks I did to the non-responsive Application menu were triggered causing the save/print/close,etc.. (all the 20 or so times I tried to click buttons on the application menu) dialogs to be triggered which then caused a crash to desktop with error report dialog.
Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
2015 Product Design Suite Ultimate
Windows 7 64 bit
Core i7 4820k processor (OC'd to 4.4Ghz), Nvidia GTX 770, 16G RAM


Active Member
JimDill
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎12-25-2007
Message 3 of 11 (691 Views)

Re: 2010 Application menu not responding

05-01-2009 06:23 PM in reply to: mcgyvr
I am having the same issue. It seem to get really slow to respond after changing my operating system for Vista 32-bit to Vista 64-bit. When trying to open a file there is often a long delay.
*Dennis Jeffrey
Message 4 of 11 (691 Views)

Re: 2010 Application menu not responding

05-02-2009 04:46 AM in reply to: mcgyvr

What else did you change?

 

What are your machine specifications?

 



--
Dennis Jeffrey, Autodesk Inventor Certified
Expert
Autodesk Manufacturing Implementation Certified
Expert.
Instructor/Author/Sr. App Engr. Tel. (260) 399-6615
AIP 2008 SP3,
AIP 2009-SP1 PcCillin AV
AMD 64 x2 3.0 Ghz, 8GB RAM GeForce 9800GT 512MB

XP Pro SP3, Windows XP Silver Theme

href="http://teknigroup.com">http://teknigroup.com
Active Contributor
mconley
Posts: 33
Registered: ‎07-11-2003
Message 5 of 11 (691 Views)

Re: 2010 Application menu not responding

05-22-2009 11:38 AM in reply to: mcgyvr
I am also having this problem.
Member
chucktaylor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎07-20-2009
Message 6 of 11 (691 Views)

Re: 2010 Application menu not responding

07-28-2009 03:15 PM in reply to: mcgyvr
I am having the problem (a long wait) with both; Open File in Inventor 2010, and in the operating system's file management software; Windows Explorer.

AI 2010,
ASUS Maximus II Formula motherboard
Intel Core 2 Duo E7400 2.80 GHz, 3 GB RAM, Nvidia Quadro FX580
Western Digital VelociRaptor WD3000GLFS
XP Pro SP 2
New Member
acurran
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎09-07-2009
Message 7 of 11 (691 Views)

Re: 2010 Application menu not responding

09-07-2009 05:09 PM in reply to: mcgyvr
We have a similar issue with Inventor 2010 crashing when we click on the application menu. The program only acts up when we apply a student microsoft policy to the user. Works fine when used without the policy. The policy includes removing the start menu and also the desktop. This policy worked fine for the previous version of Autocad products--including Inventor. Any guidance you can send my way to correct this issue?
New Member
isogashi
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎12-10-2009
Message 8 of 11 (691 Views)

Re: 2010 Application menu not responding

12-10-2009 05:44 AM in reply to: mcgyvr
Same in Win XP Proffesional x64 SP2.

AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 4400+ 2.31 GHz, 3 GB RAM
NVIDIA GeForce 6100 nForce 405 (i'm sure it's too low for Inventor 2010 x64)

despite trying Alt+F, without any file loaded. when open a file and click on app menu, it just ain't respond
Member
jaultman728
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎09-29-2011
Message 9 of 11 (276 Views)

Re: 2010 Application menu not responding

09-29-2011 08:46 AM in reply to: mcgyvr

I am having a similar problem with my version of inventor 2010. When it load and opens up, the ribbons are shaking, and will not load the rest of the way and i have to start task manager and end the program to get out of it. I have restarted my computer multiple times and it still does it every time i open up the program. Is there an update to this program that i need to get or does anybody have any ideas on what to do about this?

 

Thanks,

Josh

*Pro
ampster
Posts: 1,383
Registered: ‎07-26-2005
Message 10 of 11 (269 Views)

Re: 2010 Application menu not responding

09-29-2011 10:00 AM in reply to: jaultman728

no mention of what service pack you have for 2010 - so I'd start there and update to the latest sp level.

 

The ribbon is also very graphic intensive so you may want to make sure your graphics driver is updated also.

 

HTH

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.