Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
New Member
crtcadmin
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎10-29-2012
Message 1 of 4 (1,067 Views)
Accepted Solution

2 dimensions needed, cannot constrain a simple square

1067 Views, 3 Replies
10-29-2012 08:17 PM

I do not know what I am missing but when I sketch any basic shape i end up with "2 dimensions needed" in the lower right and it doesn't matter what I dimension or constrain I cannot get a part to Fully Constrained.  any assistance would be greatly appreciated.

 

constraints are needed to not just dimension the drawn objects but to also locate them in "space"

 

Assuming you've drawn a rectangle and dimensioned each side then you'll still need 2 constraints to lock it in a position on the sketch.  Options:

1) Dimension to any existing geometry

2) Dimension to the center-point

3) use a "fix" constraint to lock 1 of the corners of the rectangle

 

While option 3 seems the easiest 2 and 1 are better and 2 is generally the best a LOT of the time.  From the Options menu -> Sketch tab and make sure "autoproject part origin on sketch create" is ticked - now, whenever you create a sketch there will be a little dot at the origin to tie your sketch to.

 

If you still need constaints are dimensioning the rectangle AND dimensioning it to the origin then you probably need a horizontal or vertical constraint and check parrallel and perpendicular constraints are being set.  Basically you've created a random quadrilateral/trapezium instead of a rectangle with parallel edges.

 

Hope that all makes sense - if you're still struggling post a screen-shot of your sketch and we can try to show you what's missing.

Distinguished Contributor
FProcp
Posts: 172
Registered: ‎10-21-2009
Message 2 of 4 (1,058 Views)

Re: 2 dimensions needed, cannot constrain a simple square

10-29-2012 09:31 PM in reply to: crtcadmin

Auto_dim.jpg

 

Click on "Automatic Dimension" to see what's needed.

Franc
inventor :-)
*Expert Elite*
sam_m
Posts: 638
Registered: ‎11-05-2003
Message 3 of 4 (1,034 Views)

Re: 2 dimensions needed, cannot constrain a simple square

10-30-2012 01:47 AM in reply to: crtcadmin

constraints are needed to not just dimension the drawn objects but to also locate them in "space"

 

Assuming you've drawn a rectangle and dimensioned each side then you'll still need 2 constraints to lock it in a position on the sketch.  Options:

1) Dimension to any existing geometry

2) Dimension to the center-point

3) use a "fix" constraint to lock 1 of the corners of the rectangle

 

While option 3 seems the easiest 2 and 1 are better and 2 is generally the best a LOT of the time.  From the Options menu -> Sketch tab and make sure "autoproject part origin on sketch create" is ticked - now, whenever you create a sketch there will be a little dot at the origin to tie your sketch to.

 

If you still need constaints are dimensioning the rectangle AND dimensioning it to the origin then you probably need a horizontal or vertical constraint and check parrallel and perpendicular constraints are being set.  Basically you've created a random quadrilateral/trapezium instead of a rectangle with parallel edges.

 

Hope that all makes sense - if you're still struggling post a screen-shot of your sketch and we can try to show you what's missing.

----------
Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question...
but please understand that the solution may not be the answer you're wanting to hear...

If you have found any post to be helpful, even if it's not a direct solution, then please provide that author kudos - spread that love :smileyvery-happy:

Lithium - helping nntp users with mania, depression and headaches
*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 28,246
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 4 of 4 (1,009 Views)

Re: 2 dimensions needed, cannot constrain a simple square

10-30-2012 05:39 AM in reply to: crtcadmin

Attach ipt file here that exhibits this behavior.

 

You might read this document

http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/SkillsUSA%20University.pdf

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2015 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015-SP1 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.