Inventor Fusion

Inventor Fusion

Reply
Valued Contributor
mailswamp
Posts: 57
Registered: ‎06-20-2011
Message 1 of 5 (356 Views)
Accepted Solution

What is wrong with my model that was created solely in Autodesk Inventor Fusion?

356 Views, 4 Replies
09-12-2012 09:27 PM

I started working on a product prototype in Autodesk Inventor Fusion.

However I started getting error messages that prevent me from developing this model any further and forcing me to look for other software to do the job.

 

I am not sure what went wrong. I cannot shell any new parts I create. I am not sure how to make things independant components either.

 

The error message is depicted in the .jpg file.

 

Here are some files from the design process that I tried to undertake:

 

I am not an Autodesk Inventor Fusion professional but as I underrstand, the original intent was to create an easy to learn 3D editor. It is very intuitive but why isthis happening?

 

Also Autodesk Inventor Pro doesnt want to open .dwg files so it is very hard to work around issuae like this using Autodesk Inventor Pro.

 

Thank you.

Hi mailswamp,

 

Thanks your question!

 

The first question: Cannot Shell any new parts.

 

Answer: When create new part here, on same component or directly on root component. The new part and the old part is thought to be a same body. It means they are same part, although they are two lumps. As the old part is very thin, it has been done Shell before, it cannot be shell again on the very thin part, then the error pops up

So you can try to create new part on a new component and try to shell.

 

If it still cannot work, please reply me again, thanks

 

Second question: Cannot open Fusion dwg file using Autodesk Inventor Pro.

 

Answer: As AutoCAD file format is dwg. if using Inventor to open dwg file, it will open the file as sketch. So there is another way to open Fusion 3D dwg file.

 

STEP: 1. Click Open

           2. Select the dwg file

           3. Click Options

           4. Select Import

           5. Click OK

 

Attach a Screenshot to show it.

 

You can have a try, if you have other question, please reply me.

 

 

-Cathy Wang

Autodesk, Inc

 

(Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question)

Employee
Cathy.Wang_Autodesk
Posts: 70
Registered: ‎06-07-2007
Message 2 of 5 (344 Views)

Re: What is wrong with my model that was created solely in Autodesk Inventor Fus

09-12-2012 11:06 PM in reply to: mailswamp

Hi mailswamp,

 

Thanks your question!

 

The first question: Cannot Shell any new parts.

 

Answer: When create new part here, on same component or directly on root component. The new part and the old part is thought to be a same body. It means they are same part, although they are two lumps. As the old part is very thin, it has been done Shell before, it cannot be shell again on the very thin part, then the error pops up

So you can try to create new part on a new component and try to shell.

 

If it still cannot work, please reply me again, thanks

 

Second question: Cannot open Fusion dwg file using Autodesk Inventor Pro.

 

Answer: As AutoCAD file format is dwg. if using Inventor to open dwg file, it will open the file as sketch. So there is another way to open Fusion 3D dwg file.

 

STEP: 1. Click Open

           2. Select the dwg file

           3. Click Options

           4. Select Import

           5. Click OK

 

Attach a Screenshot to show it.

 

You can have a try, if you have other question, please reply me.

 

 

-Cathy Wang

Autodesk, Inc

 

(Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question)




Cathy Wang
Software QA Engineer
Fusion 360 Quality Assurance Team
Autodesk, Inc.
Valued Contributor
mailswamp
Posts: 57
Registered: ‎06-20-2011
Message 3 of 5 (339 Views)

Re: What is wrong with my model that was created solely in Autodesk Inventor Fus

09-13-2012 12:11 AM in reply to: Cathy.Wang_Autodesk

Maybe that is the reason - the main (big) part is a shelled part.

 

However Solidworks would let a user do this. I think that even Google Sketchup allowed for this.

 

Google Sketchup is what used to be in the same market nitche Autodesk Inventor Fusion is in now.

 

Also Autodesk Inventor Fusion runs slower than Solidworks on the same machine. Is there a way to reduce the quality of graphics while the object is being designed?

 

Well

Anyways

Thank you for your time

 

Employee
Cathy.Wang_Autodesk
Posts: 70
Registered: ‎06-07-2007
Message 4 of 5 (333 Views)

Re: What is wrong with my model that was created solely in Autodesk Inventor Fus

09-13-2012 12:23 AM in reply to: mailswamp

Thanks your reply!

 

About the performance question. There are some option to improve it.

 

They are on Tab View->Effect, you can try check of the effect to improve the performance. And check on the option "Adaptive Performance" to improve. Please the attached screenshot.

 

Thanks

 

-Cathy Wang

Autodesk, Inc

 

(Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question)




Cathy Wang
Software QA Engineer
Fusion 360 Quality Assurance Team
Autodesk, Inc.
Employee
Cathy.Wang_Autodesk
Posts: 70
Registered: ‎06-07-2007
Message 5 of 5 (331 Views)

Re: What is wrong with my model that was created solely in Autodesk Inventor Fus

09-13-2012 12:25 AM in reply to: mailswamp

We have a new relase Fusion product TP1. It's for MAC OS. It can solve your first question well and the performance is much better.

 

you can have a try. http://labs.autodesk.com/technologies/fusion/downloadform




Cathy Wang
Software QA Engineer
Fusion 360 Quality Assurance Team
Autodesk, Inc.
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.