Inventor Fusion

Reply
Member
neatgadgets
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎12-27-2012
Message 1 of 5 (831 Views)
Accepted Solution

Sweep not working to create cylinder

831 Views, 4 Replies
12-28-2012 05:20 PM

I created a circle and a path coming from the center (sorry for the lack of terminology). I wanted to use sweep to form a cylinder around the path with the circle being the diameter of the cylinder. However it won't light up the tick to accept it. I am not sure what I am doing wrong. 

I notice you only have one Sketch in your file, you need add 2nd Sketch which vertical the 1st sketch.

 

YourDrawing.png

 

How to?

1.Toggle on the lamp before the Origin

2.Click the vertical workplane

3.Select New Sketch

4.Draw a line you want

5.Invoke Sweep command

6.First select your 1st profile

7.Then click the new line

8.OK.

YourDrawing.png

*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 28,055
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 2 of 5 (815 Views)

Re: Sweep not working to create cylinder

12-31-2012 09:42 AM in reply to: neatgadgets

The circle is on same plane as the path.

It should be on a plane perpendicular to the path.

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015-SP1 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Member
neatgadgets
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎12-27-2012
Message 3 of 5 (810 Views)

Re: Sweep not working to create cylinder

12-31-2012 03:30 PM in reply to: JDMather

Thankyou for your reply. Happy New Years to you as well. 

 

I though I had it perpendicular to the path. How do I get it perpendicular to the path?

Employee
Mike.Zhang
Posts: 95
Registered: ‎08-07-2011
Message 4 of 5 (779 Views)

Re: Sweep not working to create cylinder

01-17-2013 10:43 PM in reply to: neatgadgets

I notice you only have one Sketch in your file, you need add 2nd Sketch which vertical the 1st sketch.

 

YourDrawing.png

 

How to?

1.Toggle on the lamp before the Origin

2.Click the vertical workplane

3.Select New Sketch

4.Draw a line you want

5.Invoke Sweep command

6.First select your 1st profile

7.Then click the new line

8.OK.

YourDrawing.png

Regards,



Mike.Zhang
SQA Engineer
Fusion 360 Quality Assurance Team
Autodesk, Inc.

Member
neatgadgets
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎12-27-2012
Message 5 of 5 (588 Views)

Re: Sweep not working to create cylinder

05-19-2013 02:18 PM in reply to: neatgadgets

Thankyou for your reply, sorry for the delay, I have only just gotten back into Inventor.

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!