Inventor Fusion

Reply
Member
JWPepper
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎06-26-2012
Message 1 of 4 (1,123 Views)

Snaps, the Inventor/Fusion way

1123 Views, 3 Replies
06-26-2012 02:21 AM

I am new to Fusion & have never used Inventor so excuse some basic questions (I have searched the wikihelp), I am struggling to move from Autocad mode to Inventor/Fusion mode with some basic commands/processes my biggest problem is the lack of snap points to relate basic setting out from.

Move that basic of commands is also difficult when you cannot pick a base point on an object to grab or a snap point to move to. Sketch geometry is the way I think but I still cannot move a solid from a useful point (i.e. centre) to move it to a sketch point?

 

I am also frustrated by the fact I can create work points/axis from solid data (see attached jpeg) but cannot use them points to snap onto! it is somewhat frustrating but obv I just need to learn the new skill set for this software.

 

Thanks,

Member
JWPepper
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎06-26-2012
Message 2 of 4 (1,120 Views)

Re: Snaps, the Inventor/Fusion way

06-26-2012 03:25 AM in reply to: JWPepper

managed to snap to the workpoint, not sure how but starting a new sketch plane seemed to work, still cannot use move/triad with any use though

Board Manager
Phil.E
Posts: 362
Registered: ‎06-29-2012
Message 3 of 4 (1,096 Views)

Re: Snaps, the Inventor/Fusion way

06-29-2012 04:45 PM in reply to: JWPepper

To position components:

 

Have you tried using the Assemble command? (Home tab> Constrain & Dimension panel)

 

Regards,

Phil Eichmiller

Autodesk, Inc.

 

 



Phil Eichmiller
Software QA Engineer
Fusion Quality Assurance Team
Autodesk, Inc.

Member
JWPepper
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎06-26-2012
Message 4 of 4 (1,084 Views)

Re: Snaps, the Inventor/Fusion way

07-02-2012 12:38 AM in reply to: JWPepper

Yes, I have used it - previously I was trying to use assemble on items that were part of the original solid before I found that I had to create separate items as new components (I thought by default new items created would be separate & not part of the original solid)

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!