Announcements
Autodesk has retired Inventor Fusion. We recommend our customers to visit the Fusion 360 community for related inquiries.
Inventor Fusion (Read Only)
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Slicing cylinder

3 REPLIES 3
Message 1 of 4
azadani
1402 Views, 3 Replies

Slicing cylinder

Hi All,

I'm an absolute CAD newbie, and downloaded Inventor Fusion 2013 (free edition) to use with my 3D printer.

To my surprise, while the printer is fun it's the CAD designing that I'm loving.

I've worked out stuff I never thought I could, but I'm stumped with one thing in particular...

I want to slice off and remove totally a corner section of a solid cylinder.

I've been trying going to the end in a 2D view, drawing an edge then using the angle plane function to set up where I want to cut (-55 degrees).

Then I have been trying to use the split function, which seems to split it (it leaves a line around the cylinder side that joins the line I drew on the 2D face) but I can't seem to remove the unwanted material.

Everything I've tried has left me with the "stop sign" or has deleted the line around the cylinder.

Would someone please be kind enough to show me an absolute "inventor fusion 2013 for dummies", blow by blow newbie special way to do this.

It's not like I haven't spent days trying or haven't searched the internet top to bottom, I have, but it can be difficult as all instruction seems to assume you are already proficient on CAD.

I must say that I'm shocked how satisfying what I've learn't already is, and plan to learn as much as I can.

Cheers in advance for any help offered.

3 REPLIES 3
Message 2 of 4
Phil.E
in reply to: azadani

Hi! Glad you're having fun with Fusion!

You've found the correct tool: Split

1. When selecting your Split Target hover over an edge of the cylinder. Notice how the entire body highlights.