Inventor Fusion

Inventor Fusion

Reply
Contributor
sosaj64
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎01-06-2013
Message 1 of 14 (701 Views)
Accepted Solution

Ive lost so many hours of work, I just need some help. Please.

701 Views, 13 Replies
01-06-2013 11:14 AM

I'm somewhat new to Inventor Fusion and I have been working on a couple of projects for some time and just out of nowhere the program closes with an error:

 

Error: Unhandled Exception

Version: 1.3.0.31

 

Report Contents:

CER-Dump.dmp

dmpuserinfo.zip

dumpdata.zip

 

This has happened a few times on a project I've been working on and I've just kinda took the loss and started over. Though it has helped improve my skills on Fusion, the further along I get the more frustrating it becomes when the error occurs again. I'd be grateful if someone can shed some light on what exactly is going on and if there's something I can do to fix this issue.

 

Specs: Windows Vista 32bit Service Pack2

4GB RAM

Inventor Fusion 2012

It's crash when open the original file in Inventor Fusion, however it could be opened by Inventor. I save as it in Inventor and reopen it in Inventor Fusion, then it could be opened(the unsupported ACAD information lost). see the screenshot below:Untitled.png 

 

*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 28,266
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 2 of 14 (690 Views)

Re: Ive lost so many hours of work, I just need some help. Please.

01-07-2013 05:10 AM in reply to: sosaj64

sosaj64 wrote:

... I've just kinda took the loss and started over.


 

 

Are you saving the file at regular intervals?

Are you not able to open the file where you last saved after the crash?

 

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2015 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015-SP1 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Contributor
sosaj64
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎01-06-2013
Message 3 of 14 (683 Views)

Re: Ive lost so many hours of work, I just need some help. Please.

01-07-2013 06:03 AM in reply to: sosaj64

Yes Im very OCD about saving. This just happens out of nowhere. Fusion crashes, I get the above error message and when I try to reopen the file I cant anymore. 

 

If there's one thing that I've (and this could mean absolutley nothing) noticed is it seems to happen when Im working around the bottom of the work area. So I tried creating a small component and placing very far down from the main project and -so far- I havent been able to reproduce the problem. Here's the file I can no longer open, maybe it works for you?

*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 28,266
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 4 of 14 (677 Views)

Re: Ive lost so many hours of work, I just need some help. Please.

01-07-2013 12:54 PM in reply to: sosaj64

I tried opening in Fusion and it crashed immediately.

 

Opened in full Inventor and this is what I got

 

Fusion dwg.JPG

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2015 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015-SP1 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Contributor
sosaj64
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎01-06-2013
Message 5 of 14 (670 Views)

Re: Ive lost so many hours of work, I just need some help. Please.

01-07-2013 08:34 PM in reply to: JDMather

Yeah that's definitely it. So it worked with Inventor but not Inventor Fusion,hmm,  what could this mean?

Contributor
sosaj64
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎01-06-2013
Message 6 of 14 (663 Views)

Re: Ive lost so many hours of work, I just need some help. Please.

01-07-2013 11:10 PM in reply to: sosaj64

I really need your help. Im stuck in the hospital right now and Im passing time by working on this project and its the end of the night so I saved and closed out to get some rest and I now I cant re open the project. This is so frustrating, I dont know what to do right now. I can send you the file. Its the same project Im just further along.  Im not sure what the bug or issue is. I've been looking around for a solution but I havent spotted anything yet. Im wondering if  spending all this energy on learning Inventor was worth the time. This sucks. Any help Id really appreciate. 

 

note: I had to zip it b/c it was too big 

Employee
SallyYang
Posts: 115
Registered: ‎07-31-2012
Message 7 of 14 (658 Views)

Re: Ive lost so many hours of work, I just need some help. Please.

01-07-2013 11:50 PM in reply to: sosaj64

It's crash when open the original file in Inventor Fusion, however it could be opened by Inventor. I save as it in Inventor and reopen it in Inventor Fusion, then it could be opened(the unsupported ACAD information lost). see the screenshot below:Untitled.png 

 

Regards,
Sally



Sally Yang
Software QA Engineer
Fusion 360 Quality Assurance Team
Autodesk, Inc.
Contributor
sosaj64
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎01-06-2013
Message 8 of 14 (650 Views)

Re: Ive lost so many hours of work, I just need some help. Please.

01-08-2013 06:40 AM in reply to: SallyYang

YES! I have it back. Oh I thought all was lost. Thank you so much. How can I avoid this from happening in the future? All I have is Inventor Fusion. 

Employee
SallyYang
Posts: 115
Registered: ‎07-31-2012
Message 9 of 14 (634 Views)

Re: Ive lost so many hours of work, I just need some help. Please.

01-08-2013 05:35 PM in reply to: sosaj64

Well, it's not easy to simply say how to avoid this, however we can give the corrupted file to our development team to see if we could address the problem from it then we can make some fix in future releases. And it would be bettter if you can summary the steps that could reproduce the issue since you have encounter it twice. Thanks for helping us improve the quality!

Regards,
Sally



Sally Yang
Software QA Engineer
Fusion 360 Quality Assurance Team
Autodesk, Inc.
Contributor
sosaj64
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎01-06-2013
Message 10 of 14 (626 Views)

Thanks Sally. This has actually happened more than a few...

01-09-2013 05:34 AM in reply to: SallyYang

Thanks Sally. This has actually happened more than a few times for me. I have 3 or 4 other corrupted files where the same has happened. Like I said before, when it happens I usually just start over... I do remember the problem starting when I tried using the Assemble tool(though it's happened even without using it since). I wasnt sure if it was Fusion or something I was doing as I worked that was triggering it. I can send you the files, maybe your team can find the problem and avoid someone else some headaches in the future. I've been working on eggshells since, saving every component to its own file and closing out the program every so often to make sure it hasn't been corrupted. 

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.