Inventor Fusion

Reply
*Expert Elite*
karthur1
Posts: 4,257
Registered: ‎04-27-2005
Message 1 of 3 (675 Views)
Accepted Solution

Inventor fusion will not start in Inventor

675 Views, 2 Replies
05-19-2011 10:25 AM

I have downloaded and installed the Fusion Preview 4. When I am in Inventor 2011 and I open an imported part, I right click on the "Base" item in the browser and choose "Edit Solid". I get a message about Inventor Fusion being available for download at the labs site.

 

I can go to Start>Programs and start Inventor Fusion from there.

 

Fusion is not listed under the Environment tab or under Add-ins.  There is a Inventor Fusion Change Manager there.

 

What am I missing to launch it from Inventor?

One more thing to check: Tools > Application Options > Parts tab. At the bottom of the dialog, there is an "Edit Base Solids using" option. Is the Fusion option available and selected?

 

Do you also have Inventor 2012 installed? I'm wondering if that was the registered version when Fusion TP4 was installed and something got missed on the install then. If so, run Inv 2011 and close it. Then reinstall Fusion TP4.

 

I guess that's two things to check.

Employee
patrick.miller
Posts: 100
Registered: ‎09-24-2008
Message 2 of 3 (660 Views)

Re: Inventor fusion will not start in Inventor

05-20-2011 07:58 AM in reply to: karthur1

One more thing to check: Tools > Application Options > Parts tab. At the bottom of the dialog, there is an "Edit Base Solids using" option. Is the Fusion option available and selected?

 

Do you also have Inventor 2012 installed? I'm wondering if that was the registered version when Fusion TP4 was installed and something got missed on the install then. If so, run Inv 2011 and close it. Then reinstall Fusion TP4.

 

I guess that's two things to check.



Patrick Miller
Senior Content Developer
Autodesk, Inc.

*Expert Elite*
karthur1
Posts: 4,257
Registered: ‎04-27-2005
Message 3 of 3 (658 Views)

Re: Inventor fusion will not start in Inventor

05-20-2011 08:30 AM in reply to: karthur1

I'm using 2011 and that was not checked in the application options.  It opens now with that checked.  I looked in there before I posted here, but did not see this option.

 

Thanks...

 

Kudos on making the orbit and orbit center work exactly like Inventor and not like the Autodesk Design Review. The way that it works in ADR is so cumbersome.  Now if we could reverse the zoom direction so its like Inventor..... just kidding, I seen where someone else had already mentioned that.

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.