Inventor Fusion

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
FProcp
Posts: 170
Registered: ‎10-21-2009
Message 11 of 17 (289 Views)

Re: Inventor 3D models in AutoCAD with Fusion

08-23-2011 06:37 AM in reply to: bobvdd

Thanks Bob. Wish this was better though.

Franc
inventor :-)
*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 27,459
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 12 of 17 (247 Views)

Re: Inventor 3D models in AutoCAD with Fusion

09-25-2011 09:57 AM in reply to: FProcp

You could always save as dwg solids directly from Inventor.

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015-SP1 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Distinguished Contributor
FProcp
Posts: 170
Registered: ‎10-21-2009
Message 13 of 17 (241 Views)

Re: Inventor 3D models in AutoCAD with Fusion

09-25-2011 03:54 PM in reply to: JDMather

Yes, I've used this method quite a bit. Just that you need to continue to have two copies of the model. The Inventor version which is easy to edit and the AutoCAD version that you've inserted in the assembly.

 

Could someone please tell Autodesk to make it possible for us to xref Inventor models in just like you can other AutoCAD ones :smileyhappy:

Franc
inventor :-)
Valued Contributor
RTPrider
Posts: 91
Registered: ‎08-07-2008
Message 14 of 17 (171 Views)

Re: Inventor 3D models in AutoCAD with Fusion

04-11-2012 10:15 PM in reply to: FProcp

If you want a 3D model in AutoCAD, why not just create it in AutoCAD in the first place?  Converting an Inventor model means you lose the parametric editing.  ACAD added parametric features a few years ago.  ACAD modeling has gotten a lot of improvements in recent years. I personally only use Inventor if requested and I have made models in AutoCAD for many, many years.

*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 27,459
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 15 of 17 (157 Views)

Re: Inventor 3D models in AutoCAD with Fusion

04-13-2012 08:26 PM in reply to: FProcp

FProcp wrote:

 

Could someone please tell Autodesk to make it possible for us to xref Inventor models in just like you can other AutoCAD ones :smileyhappy:


2013

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015-SP1 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Distinguished Contributor
FProcp
Posts: 170
Registered: ‎10-21-2009
Message 16 of 17 (154 Views)

Re: Inventor 3D models in AutoCAD with Fusion

04-13-2012 09:10 PM in reply to: JDMather

Yes, AutoCAD 2013 can import Inventor iam & ipt's straight into AutoCAD. Yipee!!!

 

The imported Inventor 3D models become AutoCAD blocks.

 

You can re-import the Inventor models into another new drawing and use the "Viewcenter' command to update those blocks in the current drawing and keep all the models live.

 

That way if the Inventor models change those models in AutoCAD can be updated so your AutoCAD drawing remains live and true to the latest updates.

 

 

Franc
inventor :-)
Valued Contributor
RTPrider
Posts: 91
Registered: ‎08-07-2008
Message 17 of 17 (147 Views)

Re: Inventor 3D models in AutoCAD with Fusion

04-14-2012 08:36 PM in reply to: FProcp

You may have better luck using AutoCAD Mechanical since it has built-in linking ability to Inventor parts.

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.