Announcements
Autodesk has retired Inventor Fusion. We recommend our customers to visit the Fusion 360 community for related inquiries.
Inventor Fusion (Read Only)
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Importing Files into Inventor Fusion

10 REPLIES 10
Message 1 of 11
Auxiliary
4776 Views, 10 Replies

Importing Files into Inventor Fusion

I just received Inventor Fusion with my Inventor 2012 Suite.  I am new to Fusion.  I have read about it but have never used it before.  I am able to draw in Fusion and I have opened step files.  When I try to open a solidworks 2011 part file (.sldprt), the software acts like it has opened the file but there is nothing there (it is not a sheet metal part).  I read through some help files and have not found anything special to do when opening these files.  What do I need to do to be able to open these files?  Does it have to do with the version of the files?

Thanks

10 REPLIES 10
Message 2 of 11
udayag
in reply to: Auxiliary

Could you please send the file(s) to udaya.gunasena@autodesk.com to take a look?

Did you try opening them in Inventor 2012?

Udaya Gunasena
Fusion Development
Autodesk
Message 3 of 11
Auxiliary
in reply to: udayag

Inventor 2012 would not open the files.  It gave an error on the Autodesk Inventor Translation Report.  I have attached the files that I am trying to open.

Message 4 of 11

It does relate to the file version, your file version is Solidwork 2011,  Fusion 2012 and Inventor 2012 don't support opening this version of sldprt, it supports version up to Solidwork 2010.

If you have Solidwork installed, Would you please try to use Solidwork to save it to IGES/STEP, then open with Fusion or Inventor.

-Angie Li
Autodesk
Message 5 of 11
vutsis
in reply to: Auxiliary