Inventor Fusion

Reply
New Member
alexhberger
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎08-25-2012
Message 1 of 7 (955 Views)
Accepted Solution

Importing dwg files

955 Views, 6 Replies
08-25-2012 02:35 PM

I have two files that I created in illustrator that I would like to import as a sketch in IF, but I keep getting a "load dwg file failed."  What can I do to get these files to work? I am doing a project for my dad, and want to be able to use this program to complete it.

Hi

 

If you want to open the 3D models which are created by Sketchup (.skp file) or SolidWorks/Catia/Proe, you don't need to translate to dwg file, Fusion can open many kinds of format files.

 

If you want to using a sketch create by AutoCAD, you can copy the sketch lines and Paste to Fusion sketch.

 

If you are using a high Revison solidworks/Catia/Proe which is beyand our limit, you can save 3D model to step/stl format, Fusion can open them very well.

 

Thanks

Cathy

Autodesk, Inc

 

(Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question)

*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 28,207
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 2 of 7 (931 Views)

Re: Importing dwg files

08-28-2012 01:12 PM in reply to: alexhberger

When I open the files in AutoCAD I get an warning and on inspection see some areas that are duplicated (right side of image) and/or not very good quality (left side of image).

 

Poor Geometry.PNG

 

 

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2015 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015-SP1 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 28,207
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 3 of 7 (929 Views)

Re: Importing dwg files

08-28-2012 01:18 PM in reply to: JDMather

I would attempt to use far fewer points to define spline curves (see image where one point does good job of defining curve) and use lines and arc segements where possible rather than splines.  Also note the point circled in red.

Curve points.PNG

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2015 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015-SP1 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 28,207
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 4 of 7 (927 Views)

Re: Importing dwg files

08-28-2012 01:22 PM in reply to: JDMather

In this image I didn't move it completely into an aesthetically pleasing position, but you should be able to see how it was way out of position from previous image.

 

vertex.PNG

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2015 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015-SP1 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Board Manager
Phil.E
Posts: 375
Registered: ‎06-29-2012
Message 5 of 7 (885 Views)

Re: Importing dwg files

09-04-2012 05:32 PM in reply to: alexhberger

In my experience the DWG data created by Illustrator is often prone to this kind of defect. Illustrator tends to generate graphics that look okay, but are not robust enough for 3D modeling without an edit session in AutoCAD.

 

Fusion can import an image as a Canvas and you can sketch on top of this. Have you tried this?

 

 



Phil Eichmiller
Software QA Engineer
Fusion Quality Assurance Team
Autodesk, Inc.

Valued Contributor
mailswamp
Posts: 57
Registered: ‎06-20-2011
Message 6 of 7 (841 Views)

Re: Importing dwg files

09-15-2012 01:26 PM in reply to: Phil.E

Inventor Fusion has a hard time using DWG files that were not created in Autodesk products such as .dwg files in Solidworks. 

Employee
Cathy.Wang_Autodesk
Posts: 75
Registered: ‎06-07-2007
Message 7 of 7 (829 Views)

Re: Importing dwg files

09-16-2012 07:05 PM in reply to: mailswamp

Hi

 

If you want to open the 3D models which are created by Sketchup (.skp file) or SolidWorks/Catia/Proe, you don't need to translate to dwg file, Fusion can open many kinds of format files.

 

If you want to using a sketch create by AutoCAD, you can copy the sketch lines and Paste to Fusion sketch.

 

If you are using a high Revison solidworks/Catia/Proe which is beyand our limit, you can save 3D model to step/stl format, Fusion can open them very well.

 

Thanks

Cathy

Autodesk, Inc

 

(Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question)




Cathy Wang
Software QA Engineer
Fusion 360 Quality Assurance Team
Autodesk, Inc.
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.