Inventor Fusion

Reply
Valued Contributor
mailswamp
Posts: 57
Registered: ‎06-20-2011
Message 1 of 9 (266 Views)

I found a bug or a flaw in the program design.

266 Views, 8 Replies
09-13-2012 12:06 AM

This is where I almost didnt notice that the line did not snap to the corect verteces of the hexagons.

BUG1 - Obvious BUG points mismatch.jpg

 

This is what it resulted before I revolved this feature on itself at 90 degrees.

BUG1 - Obvious BUG points mismatch 2 _ proof.jpg
BUG1 - Why isnt this a flat surface if all planes snapped to the right points.png 

(no extrimist symbology here, just a proof that the revolved parts were misalligned after what appeared to be a successeful design where all points snapped to the corners of planes/ geometry)

 

Thank you for your time.

Employee
Cathy.Wang_Autodesk
Posts: 70
Registered: ‎06-07-2007
Message 2 of 9 (262 Views)

Re: I found a bug or a flaw in the program design.

09-13-2012 12:42 AM in reply to: mailswamp

Hi mailswamp

 

Thanks your question.

 

I think it's a good finding. Could you please attached the file?

 

Thanks

 

-Cathy Wang

Autodesk, Inc




Cathy Wang
Software QA Engineer
Fusion 360 Quality Assurance Team
Autodesk, Inc.
Valued Contributor
mailswamp
Posts: 57
Registered: ‎06-20-2011
Message 3 of 9 (250 Views)

Re: I found a bug or a flaw in the program design.

09-13-2012 07:18 PM in reply to: Cathy.Wang_Autodesk

Here is the file.

 

The problem of Inventor Fusion is that it deosnt allow to snap things to points located on other plains or surfaces.

There is also a problem that I cannot just add lines and somehow tell the program to fill the surfaces.

 

Google Sketchup did allow this but there were other issues because surfaces were generated automatically and sometimes they werent generated at all.

Valued Contributor
mailswamp
Posts: 57
Registered: ‎06-20-2011
Message 4 of 9 (246 Views)

Re: I found a bug or a flaw in the program design.

09-13-2012 08:15 PM in reply to: mailswamp

You should consider combining Autodesk Inventor Fusion with some Brain COmputer Interface technology like PLX, Emotiv or NeuroSky.  This would be a real revolution.

Employee
Cathy.Wang_Autodesk
Posts: 70
Registered: ‎06-07-2007
Message 5 of 9 (242 Views)

Re: I found a bug or a flaw in the program design.

09-13-2012 10:08 PM in reply to: mailswamp

Hi,

 

Thanks your reply. Your suggestion are very good.

 

About the problem you mentioned can be solved by project the points on the sketch plane, then you can snap to the point. You may think it can be projected automatically. The good side is it can snap the point easily. The bad side it may be effect performance.

 

Anyway, we will consider your suggestion in future release.

 

Thanks again

 

-Cathy Wang

Autodesk, Inc

 

(Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question)




Cathy Wang
Software QA Engineer
Fusion 360 Quality Assurance Team
Autodesk, Inc.
Valued Contributor
mailswamp
Posts: 57
Registered: ‎06-20-2011
Message 6 of 9 (235 Views)

Re: I found a bug or a flaw in the program design.

09-14-2012 07:44 AM in reply to: Cathy.Wang_Autodesk

I think that it is counterintuitive to project points onto a plane if those points are what the plane was referenced to.

Employee
Cathy.Wang_Autodesk
Posts: 70
Registered: ‎06-07-2007
Message 7 of 9 (218 Views)

Re: I found a bug or a flaw in the program design.

09-16-2012 06:49 PM in reply to: mailswamp

Hi,

 

You are right.

 

Theoretically, there are some kind of points. Such as Construct points, they are live in 3D coordinate system. Such as 2D Sketch points,they are live in sketch plane and they are in 2D Coordinate system. One sketch point is live in only one sketch. It means one sketch point cannot live in two or many sketchs. That's why you feel "it is counterintuitive to project points onto a plane if those points are what the plane was referenced to".

 

We will think about your suggestion in future, your idea is good.

 

Thanks

Cathy

Autodesk, Inc

 

(Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question)




Cathy Wang
Software QA Engineer
Fusion 360 Quality Assurance Team
Autodesk, Inc.
Valued Contributor
mailswamp
Posts: 57
Registered: ‎06-20-2011
Message 8 of 9 (208 Views)

Re: I found a bug or a flaw in the program design.

09-17-2012 01:12 PM in reply to: Cathy.Wang_Autodesk

Most of 3D technical drawing/modeling editors have this problem. Maybe Inventor Fusion may be the first one to not have it.

 

I have a lot of suggestions for this product.

 

Is this the only way to propose new features/ ideas to Autodesk?

http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/index?siteID=123112&id=18216839

 

I was also thinking about this:

Autodesk Inventor Fusion is an expirimental program. Were there any attempts to incorporate Brain Computer Interface into the software inputs? It may be unrealistic but it seems to be the second large evolutionary step after AutoCAD text commands. Maybe not all of the input can be done this way but incorporating alternative input devices such as EEG, EMG and drawing boards seems to open a new big oppotunity for Autodesk.

 

Thank you.

Employee
Macro.Liu_Autodesk
Posts: 98
Registered: ‎05-26-2008
Message 9 of 9 (186 Views)

Re: I found a bug or a flaw in the program design.

09-18-2012 07:42 PM in reply to: mailswamp

Thank you very much for your comment!

 

If you want to share more with us, please email to: labsDOTivDOTfusion@autodeskDOTcom.

 

Thanks,

Macro Liu

Inventor Fusion QA Team

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.