Inventor Fusion

Reply
*Expert Elite*
karthur1
Posts: 4,263
Registered: ‎04-27-2005
Message 1 of 6 (238 Views)

How to patch this?

238 Views, 5 Replies
08-23-2013 07:53 PM

It might be second nature for you "seasoned" fusioniers, but I need some help with this.  How would you go about patching this so that it is one surface?  I need it to look like this when done.

 

2013-08-23_2151.png

 

I have a much more complicated part that I am working on.  Hopefully I can apply the same methods used to patch this.

 

Thanks.

Board Manager
Phil.E
Posts: 340
Registered: ‎06-29-2012
Message 2 of 6 (220 Views)

Re: How to patch this?

08-26-2013 11:32 AM in reply to: karthur1

While it may be possible to patch that cutout, my first thought was to rebuild the surface entirely.

 

See the attached image. There is an edge and a circular reference available.

 

  1. Start the Revolve command
  2. Select the edge
  3. Pick "Axis" and select the semicircle edge
  4. Drag the manipulator arrow, it will snap at 90°
  5. Delete the original surface body

rebuild_the_revolve.png



Phil Eichmiller
Software QA Engineer
Fusion Quality Assurance Team
Autodesk, Inc.

*Expert Elite*
karthur1
Posts: 4,263
Registered: ‎04-27-2005
Message 3 of 6 (216 Views)

Re: How to patch this?

08-26-2013 11:57 AM in reply to: Phil.E

Phil,

I appreciate the response, but like I said, I am working on a much more complicated part.  On the more complicated part, rebuilding it is not as simple as my example.I will just post my problem part here so you can see what I mean.  Maybe there is a simply way to repair this.

 

If you look at this part.  You will see several places around the perimeter that has a void/cutout in them.  Is there a way to repair these voids?

 

Thanks

 

2013-08-26_1349.png

 

Board Manager
Phil.E
Posts: 340
Registered: ‎06-29-2012
Message 4 of 6 (212 Views)

Re: How to patch this?

08-26-2013 12:27 PM in reply to: karthur1

You are correct, this is a complicated part.

 

Unfortunately I couldn't find a way to repair those voids perfectly. It may be work for a more robust surface modeling tool. Lofting with rails should be a good strategy. Delete the affected faces and replace them entirely. I could not get Inventor Fusion to loft sufficiently to achieve this.

 

Is the original data available? If this came from a parametric modeler it may be possible to "turn off" some of these features prior to exporting this surface.

 



Phil Eichmiller
Software QA Engineer
Fusion Quality Assurance Team
Autodesk, Inc.

*Expert Elite*
karthur1
Posts: 4,263
Registered: ‎04-27-2005
Message 5 of 6 (208 Views)

Re: How to patch this?

08-26-2013 12:56 PM in reply to: Phil.E

The data file that was supplied to me is a solidwks file.  Of course, when I bring that into Inventor there is no way to turn off the feature.

 

Thanks.

*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 27,509
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 6 of 6 (192 Views)

Re: How to patch this?

09-02-2013 07:50 AM in reply to: karthur1

karthur1 wrote:

The data file that was supplied to me is a solidwks file.  Of course, when I bring that into Inventor there is no way to turn off the feature.

 

Thanks.


Inventor or Inventor Fusion?

If Inventor, what do you mean by "...no ay to turn off the feature?"

I would look at the Extract Loop command in Inventor to see if the original untrimmed surface geometry could be recovered.  Can you zip and attach the original SWx file (in the Inventor forum of course)?

 

Edit:  I was able to open your dwg file in Inventor and untrim (Extract Loop) the surfaces.

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015-SP1 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.