Inventor Fusion

Reply
Active Member
fsamir
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎06-22-2013
Message 1 of 8 (3,635 Views)
Accepted Solution

How to do threads with Inventor Fusion?

3635 Views, 7 Replies
06-27-2013 03:28 PM

Hi there,

 

is it possible to create threads with Inventor Fusion? Any workaround?

 

It seems is a killer feature that is missing.

 

Thanks,

Franklin

Franklin,

 

Thanks for letting us know how you would like to use threads.

 

Inventor Fusion does not support such features. However, Fusion 360 does.

 

Fusion 360 has a thread command that:

  • Has physical (3D) and graphical threads
  • Threads are specified by picking the size and standard
  • Geometry adjusts to the thread size.

Try it here: Fusion 360 Hub

 

Thanks again,

 

Board Manager
Phil.E
Posts: 362
Registered: ‎06-29-2012
Message 2 of 8 (3,587 Views)

Re: How to do threads with Inventor Fusion?

07-16-2013 08:58 AM in reply to: fsamir

Franklin,

 

Thanks for posting. You are correct, threads are a great feature. Can you describe how you would use the threads?

 

Thanks!



Phil Eichmiller
Software QA Engineer
Fusion Quality Assurance Team
Autodesk, Inc.

Active Member
fsamir
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎06-22-2013
Message 3 of 8 (3,585 Views)

Re: How to do threads with Inventor Fusion?

07-16-2013 03:13 PM in reply to: Phil.E
Hi,

I would like to use to connect thing, like a jar lid, screws, etc.
It would be great if we were able to apply a positive thread externally to
a cylinder and substract the same thread from another shape, so they could
connect to each other.


Regards,
Franklin Dattein
Board Manager
Phil.E
Posts: 362
Registered: ‎06-29-2012
Message 4 of 8 (3,581 Views)

Re: How to do threads with Inventor Fusion?

07-16-2013 03:28 PM in reply to: fsamir

Franklin,

 

I'm sorry I should have been more clear. By "use the threads" I mean: do you need a 3D model, or just a picture, a 3D printed model, or a drawing of the parts?

 

Thanks,



Phil Eichmiller
Software QA Engineer
Fusion Quality Assurance Team
Autodesk, Inc.

Active Member
fsamir
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎06-22-2013
Message 5 of 8 (3,574 Views)

Re: How to do threads with Inventor Fusion?

07-16-2013 05:11 PM in reply to: Phil.E

Hi,

I can think of some different ways to achieve the job. Please let me know if it is clear enough.

 

1. Using sketches
Given a 3D object (like a cylinder) I would like to be able to apply a thread sketch to its surface,
in such a way that I can define thread thickness, distance between threads, thread angle
And pull it up in such a way that it will add threads to the surface of the object
Or pull it down in such a way that it will substract the thread to the surface of the object.

 

2. Using a 3D object
Given there is a new Thread 3D Object model in the menu
When I choose it
Then it render the object like an spiral
And I can define the following parameters:
  thread thickness;
   distance between threads;
   thread height;
   thread angle
And I can snap it to an existing 3D object
And I can subsctract it from an existing object.

 

 

3. Modifying an existing object (similar the holes functionality)
Given I have an 3D object that supports threads (like cylinders and cilindircal holes)
When I select the object surface
Then there is an option to apply the thread pattern to the selected object's surface.
And I can specify the following parameters:
   thread thickness;
   distance between threads;
   thread height;
   thread angle

 

Board Manager
Phil.E
Posts: 362
Registered: ‎06-29-2012
Message 6 of 8 (3,567 Views)

Re: How to do threads with Inventor Fusion?

07-17-2013 08:21 AM in reply to: fsamir

Franklin,

 

Thanks for letting us know how you would like to use threads.

 

Inventor Fusion does not support such features. However, Fusion 360 does.

 

Fusion 360 has a thread command that:

  • Has physical (3D) and graphical threads
  • Threads are specified by picking the size and standard
  • Geometry adjusts to the thread size.

Try it here: Fusion 360 Hub

 

Thanks again,

 



Phil Eichmiller
Software QA Engineer
Fusion Quality Assurance Team
Autodesk, Inc.

Active Member
fsamir
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎06-22-2013
Message 7 of 8 (3,563 Views)

Re: How to do threads with Inventor Fusion?

07-17-2013 05:49 PM in reply to: Phil.E

Hi Phil,

 

thanks for ponting to Fusion 360.

 

I just downloaded it and I managed to create threads just as I was looking for. I hope when Fusion 360 becomes a payed software it won't be too expensive for a hobbist like me.

Board Manager
Phil.E
Posts: 362
Registered: ‎06-29-2012
Message 8 of 8 (3,558 Views)

Re: How to do threads with Inventor Fusion?

07-17-2013 06:10 PM in reply to: fsamir

Franklin,

 

There are three worspaces. Threads are in the Model workspace, which is for traditional 3D solid modeling. I suspect you are in the Sculpt workspace.

 

threads_in_Fusion_360.png

 

 

 

 

 



Phil Eichmiller
Software QA Engineer
Fusion Quality Assurance Team
Autodesk, Inc.

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!