Announcements
Autodesk has retired Inventor Fusion. We recommend our customers to visit the Fusion 360 community for related inquiries.
Inventor Fusion (Read Only)
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Help! Importing .DWG Files in Inventor Doesn't Work For Me

17 REPLIES 17
SOLVED
Message 1 of 18
tommypants
15678 Views, 17 Replies

Help! Importing .DWG Files in Inventor Doesn't Work For Me

Hello:

Being a total newbie to Inventor, I find that drawing splines is very clumsy with this program (at least compared to 2D vector applications like Adobe Illustrator).

I looked up the file formats that both programs could export to/open so I already knew about DWG files, DXF and IGES as well as a few others that 3D Studio Max (another program I use) could export to.

But each time I tried to import them into Inventor (as in the helpful video here: http://youtu.be/R792lFPnCjc  ), I got the following two error messages one after the other:

Error message 1:

A copy of the DWG is being made. Unsupported AutoCAD imnformation may be removed when saved as an Inventor Fusion document.

Error message 2:

The file does not contain any Inventor Fusion entities.

Then nothing appeared in the Inventor window.

And these files were just simple shapes (a circle and a square) to test out whether this would work, so it was nothing too complex by any means.

I also loaded them into 3DS Max and then re-exported them to various files types that Inventor is supposed to read just to see if it was an Illustrator-specific problem but still... nothing appears in Inventor.

So... does it look like my Inventor copy is broken somehow and needs re-installing?

Some other thing I am doing wrong?

Just totally lost, here.

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance!
Tom

P.S: I am using:

Adobe Illustrator CS 5.1

3DS Max 2011 32-bit

Inventor Fusion 2013

Tags (2)
17 REPLIES 17
Message 2 of 18
JDMather
in reply to: tommypants