Inventor Fusion

Inventor Fusion

Reply
Member
Sarz91
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎09-02-2012
Message 1 of 11 (565 Views)

Having trouble with Inventor Fusion.

565 Views, 10 Replies
09-02-2012 10:34 AM

I recently downloaded the student edition of Simulation CFD. Inventor Fusion came with it. I use Creo 2.0 for most of my college work and also have it donwloaded on my computer. My problem is anytime I try and open one of the Creo 2.0 files in Fusion, it either crashes or freezes. I can open the sample model no problem but then when I try to run some tests on it in Simulation CFD that program becomes unresponsive. 

 

I only just built up my system about a month or two ago.

I'll list the specs anyway:

-CPU: I5 3570K overclocked to 4.2 GHz

-Ram: 16 GB ddr3

-GPU: GTX 670

-PSU: 650 Watt Amazon Super Flower

-Primary Memory Storage unit: Samsung 830 series 128GB

-Secondary Memory Storage unit: Seagate Barracuda 7200 rpm 1TB

 

I've uninstalled and re installed a few times. Any help would be greatly appreciated. 

 

Employee
Mike.Zhang
Posts: 123
Registered: ‎08-07-2011
Message 2 of 11 (543 Views)

Re: Having trouble with Inventor Fusion.

09-03-2012 01:42 AM in reply to: Sarz91

Could you tell me which OS you are using now to run it?

Win7-64bit OS or Win7-32bit OS?

 

And could you send me your models which opened in Fusion?

 

You can attach them here or mail to me:

jiangang.zhang@autodesk.com

 

 

Thanks,

Regards,



Mike.Zhang
SQA Engineer
Fusion 360 Quality Assurance Team
Autodesk, Inc.

New Member
alper
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎09-03-2012
Message 3 of 11 (532 Views)

Re: Having trouble with Inventor Fusion.

09-03-2012 08:40 AM in reply to: Sarz91

I have same problem, system

 

İmac

21.5-inch, Mid 2010

3,06 GHz Intel Core i3

8 GB 1333 MHz DDR3

ATI Radeon HD 4670 256 MB

OS X 10.8.1 (12B19)

Member
Sarz91
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎09-02-2012
Message 4 of 11 (528 Views)

Re: Having trouble with Inventor Fusion.

09-03-2012 10:44 AM in reply to: Mike.Zhang

My OS is Win 7 64 bit. I sent you the model. Its just a rectangular shaped solid. I can open the part in fusion using the NX translator but the part doesn't appear and Fusion closes shortly after. If I try the ProE translator I get the following error message and then Fusion instantly closes Error: Unhandled Exception. I can open the sample model with Fusion but when I bring it across into simulation CFD both programs become unresponsive and close.

Employee
Mike.Zhang
Posts: 123
Registered: ‎08-07-2011
Message 5 of 11 (519 Views)

Re: Having trouble with Inventor Fusion.

09-03-2012 07:18 PM in reply to: Sarz91

Hi Sarz91,

 

Tanks your replyment, we'll analyze it.

I haven't recieved your mail with model now, could you attach the model here?

 

Regards,

Regards,



Mike.Zhang
SQA Engineer
Fusion 360 Quality Assurance Team
Autodesk, Inc.

*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 28,246
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 6 of 11 (503 Views)

Re: Having trouble with Inventor Fusion.

09-04-2012 09:21 AM in reply to: Mike.Zhang

Mike.Zhang wrote:

Tanks your replyment, we'll analyze it.

Regards,


Does Fusion support Creo 2 (or only Creo 1)?

 

I tried a Creo 2 file and Fusion 2013 crashed here as well.

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2015 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015-SP1 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Employee
Mike.Zhang
Posts: 123
Registered: ‎08-07-2011
Message 7 of 11 (490 Views)

Re: Having trouble with Inventor Fusion.

09-04-2012 11:09 PM in reply to: Sarz91

Fusion doesn't support Creo files.

You can find the detail information here.

http://wikihelp.autodesk.com/Inventor_Fusion/enu/2013/Help/0167-Import_D167

Regards,



Mike.Zhang
SQA Engineer
Fusion 360 Quality Assurance Team
Autodesk, Inc.

*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 28,246
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 8 of 11 (483 Views)

Re: Having trouble with Inventor Fusion.

09-05-2012 05:26 AM in reply to: Mike.Zhang

Mike.Zhang wrote:

Fusion doesn't support Creo files.

You can find the detail information here.

http://wikihelp.autodesk.com/Inventor_Fusion/enu/2013/Help/0167-Import_D167


Mike did you try it?
Fusion imports Creo 1.0 files on my machine just fine.

 

The Inventor Help files are out-of-date (as usual for Autodesk).

Creo Parametric  is the new name of Pro/Engineer.

 

Creo 2.0 came out after Fusion 2013, but Creo 1.0 files translate fine.

You can try it yourself with the attached Creo file.

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2015 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015-SP1 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Employee
Mike.Zhang
Posts: 123
Registered: ‎08-07-2011
Message 9 of 11 (465 Views)

Re: Having trouble with Inventor Fusion.

09-05-2012 10:33 PM in reply to: JDMather

Thanks your replyment.

 

Yes, I also can open your Creo 1.0 file by using Fusion 2013.

Seems the file type of Creo1.0 file is same/similar as Proe4.0 file. So we can luckly open it by Fusion 2013.

 

But Fusion just clarified it supports Proe file type up to version 4.0.

 

Types of Pro/ENGINEER files you can import:

  • *.prt* (part) (up to version 4.0)
  • *.asm* (assembly) (up to version 4.0)
  • *.g (Granite) (up to version 5.0)
Regards,



Mike.Zhang
SQA Engineer
Fusion 360 Quality Assurance Team
Autodesk, Inc.

Member
Sarz91
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎09-02-2012
Message 10 of 11 (457 Views)

Re: Having trouble with Inventor Fusion.

09-06-2012 05:10 AM in reply to: Mike.Zhang

So Fusion 2013 doesn't support Creo 2.0 parts? Is it the same with Simulation CFD?

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.