Announcements
Autodesk has retired Inventor Fusion. We recommend our customers to visit the Fusion 360 community for related inquiries.
Inventor Fusion (Read Only)
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Flatten 3D geometry

10 REPLIES 10
Message 1 of 11
George2012
2563 Views, 10 Replies

Flatten 3D geometry

I am very new to inventor fusion (actually I am evaluating it right now to provide feedback), I am wondering if I have a 3D geometry and want to flatten it, could it be done by Inventor Fusion or not.

If it is doable, could you explain how?

Thx.

10 REPLIES 10
Message 2 of 11
frankwu
in reply to: George2012

Please post an image of what you are trying to do.  That will make it easier to comment.

Depending on what you object is, perhaps you can (1) switch the view so it looks flat (clicking the faces of the cube in the upper right hand corner to rotate your object), and then (2) create a new plane, (3) use line tool to trace over the silhouette of the object, and then (4) PATCH the silhouette (one of the SURFACE commands), so you fill the trace so that it's a flat piece (no thickness)?

Or do you want thickness?  (So, say, a house a squashed down to a silhouette of a house that is, say, 1 mm thick?)  I've never done this and I'm not at my computer that has inventor fusion on it, but perhaps you could (1) select the object and (2) EXTRUDE the object (a command under SOLID) (I'm not sure you can do this with your object) to create a really long extruded object and then (3) create a plane which is parallel to the EXTRUDED object but some distance away; (4) on this new plane, create two rectangles with a gutter 1 mm wide between them, (5) use EXTRUDE again (under SOLID not SURFACE), set it to CUT, and then select two rectangles and EXTRUDE through your really long extruded object, thus leaving a silhouette 1 mm thick.