Inventor Fusion

Reply
New Member
westers151
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎04-17-2013
Message 1 of 6 (517 Views)

Exact placement of holes

517 Views, 5 Replies
04-17-2013 09:50 AM

How can I exactly place holes, such as countersinks, on the face of an extruded object within Inventor?

 

I've watched the tutorials, however there is nothing to explain how to do this - for example, and using an X, Y axis with a known reference point, I want a hole that is 5mm along the x axis, and 104mm from the y axis.

Employee
haughec
Posts: 102
Registered: ‎05-24-2012
Message 2 of 6 (506 Views)

Re: Exact placement of holes

04-17-2013 02:23 PM in reply to: westers151

Activate the hole position manipulator (click on the round, white manipulator located at the center of the hole), and then select edges from which to dimension the hole.  Dimensions should appear and allow you to edit the values.

 

We're working on making this more discoverable.

 

Hope this helps.

Charles Haughey
Fusion 360 User Experience Designer
New Member
westers151
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎04-17-2013
Message 3 of 6 (493 Views)

Re: Exact placement of holes

04-18-2013 12:28 PM in reply to: haughec

Thanks Charles, and funnily enough I was scouring Google after I posted my question and came across a Youtube demo that briefly showed what you were talking about. Your explanation filled in the few remaining gaps that the video left.

 

 

Member
Stevekir
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎04-19-2013
Message 4 of 6 (482 Views)

Re: Exact placement of holes

04-19-2013 07:50 AM in reply to: westers151

Getting_Started.pdf helps here, using the Ring Mamipulator, on its p 7 (or p 13 when in Acrobat /reader).

 

 

 

 

 

 

Member
gary
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎05-22-2013
Message 5 of 6 (426 Views)

Re: Exact placement of holes

05-22-2013 03:42 PM in reply to: haughec
this doesnt work on the mac version Arrrrghh!!
Member
gary
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎05-22-2013
Message 6 of 6 (422 Views)

Re: Exact placement of holes

05-24-2013 12:09 AM in reply to: gary
just found it...... need to do it in Sketch mode, dimension it first, then you can simply amend dimensions.....
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.