Inventor Fusion

Reply
Member
jeffjvick
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎02-27-2014
Message 11 of 15 (235 Views)

Re: Equivalent of Loft in Inventor Fusion?

02-27-2014 11:45 AM in reply to: Phil.E
Phil,

Thanks for the quick response.

When in the Dashboard I click on Create -> Design but I do not see any
option to select Direct vs. Capture history. It only lets me add a name
and designate which project to share with. Where is this selection?

I was able to right click on the top browser node and turn off history
capture though and now I see the loft selection. Thanks!

As a side question, this is my first time using any CAD software. I'm
trying to design some parts to be 3d printed. I started with your 123D
Design product on the mac and it literally couldn't run for more then 2
mins without crashing so I switch to trying Fusion 360. This seems more
stable but has already crashed at least once losing about half of my work.
Are these products more stable on the Windows platform and I should just
use that?

Also, since I'm just getting started and have no idea what I'm doing I'm
trying to use http://fusion360.autodesk.com/resources for help but it
doesn't seem to be aimed at the beginner. The "Get Started" video for
example does not help you 'get started' at all and should really be titled
"Here's what you can do after you've used this program for a few weeks".
There are some decent videos sprinkled in the menus on the left but they
are haphazardly listed and don't build upon one another. Are there
step-by-step, sequential tutorials available somewhere that start from the
ground up? Most of these are created more as a showcase of the various
software features assuming you already know why you would need these
features.

Thanks,
Jeff
Board Manager
Phil.E
Posts: 358
Registered: ‎06-29-2012
Message 12 of 15 (233 Views)

Re: Equivalent of Loft in Inventor Fusion?

02-27-2014 11:59 AM in reply to: jeffjvick

Jeff,

 

Sorry, I forgot you need to change your preferences. This is done as shown below.

 

change to direct.png

 

For your stability issues, I need to ask a few questions if you don't mind.

What Mac do you have?

Version of OSX?

Your video card specs?

Do you use the trackpad?

 

If you crash please fill out the CER (crash error report) with as much detail as possible.

 

For learning, we are currently working on a more in-depth training page. If you like videos, there are lots of tips and tricks on our YouTube channel. For basic instructions you can try iGetit, however this is not an Autodesk site.

 

Also, this forum is for Inventor Fusion, so you can also check out (and drop us your joy, complaints, questions, and suggestions) on the Fusion 360 message board.

 

Hope that helps!

 



Phil Eichmiller
Software QA Engineer
Fusion Quality Assurance Team
Autodesk, Inc.

Member
jeffjvick
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎02-27-2014
Message 13 of 15 (229 Views)

Re: Equivalent of Loft in Inventor Fusion?

02-27-2014 12:12 PM in reply to: Phil.E

Phil,

 

Thanks for showing me how to change this in the preferencs.  I'll post future Fusion 360 questions in the appropriate message board as well.

 

As for stability, I have:

MacBook Pro, 13-inch, Mid 2012

2.9 GHz Intel Core i7

16 GB 1600mhz ram

Intel HD Graphics 4000 with 512 MB ram

OSX 10.8.5

I was not using the trackpad, i have a wireless mouse.

 

Obviously there is no graphics card but I wasn't really doing anything complicated.

 

I will check out the youtube page and igetit.

 

Thanks,

Jeff

 

 

Board Manager
Phil.E
Posts: 358
Registered: ‎06-29-2012
Message 14 of 15 (226 Views)

Re: Equivalent of Loft in Inventor Fusion?

02-27-2014 12:52 PM in reply to: jeffjvick

 

Just to wrap up this thread:

 

Sounds like a great machine, and we have tested the graphics chipset you are using without any obvious problems found. 

 

Couple of suggestions that might help:

  • Try turning off some of the effects (look for the monitor icon in the center bottom tool bar). Turn off anti-aliasing and ambient occlusion if they are on.
  • Try turning off gesture based navigation, i.e. the trackpad controls. Restarting Fusion 360 for the setting to take effect.

turn off gestures.png

 

I'll forward this to support to see if they have any input on your stability. And please fill out the CER reports, that's the best way to track this kind of issue.



Phil Eichmiller
Software QA Engineer
Fusion Quality Assurance Team
Autodesk, Inc.

Board Manager
Phil.E
Posts: 358
Registered: ‎06-29-2012
Message 15 of 15 (216 Views)

Re: Equivalent of Loft in Inventor Fusion?

02-27-2014 05:28 PM in reply to: jeffjvick

 

Kudos to Nate in support, he reminded me of this page.

 

There are a couple of other things to try there. Good luck!

 

 



Phil Eichmiller
Software QA Engineer
Fusion Quality Assurance Team
Autodesk, Inc.

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!