Inventor Fusion

Reply
Active Contributor
LeonMF
Posts: 34
Registered: ‎02-14-2013
Message 1 of 4 (360 Views)

Combining components for export/print

360 Views, 3 Replies
02-14-2013 06:35 AM

Full disclosure, I'm completely new to 3D design and I've spent a couple of weeks figuring out the right tools and learning some of the basics.  Now that the OSX crash is behind us, I can actually save and load files. :smileyhappy:

 

My problem is that when I export the attached model as STL, ReplicatorG only sees the main body and does not see the cavity and entry point for the latching mechanism.  When loading the STL back into IF, the entire object is there.  So, I presume the problem to be in ReplicatorG but my simple workaround is to combine four components into one body and export that way.  I've spent about an hour trying different things and searching the internet/forums and can't figure this out.

 

Ack! Any advice would be very much appreciated.

Active Contributor
LeonMF
Posts: 34
Registered: ‎02-14-2013
Message 2 of 4 (350 Views)

Re: Combining components for export/print

02-14-2013 10:57 AM in reply to: LeonMF

I have a workaround.

 

  1. Export as STL
  2. Load into FreeCad
  3. Export as STL
  4. Load with ReplicatorG

I'll test the build tonight when I get home.

Board Manager
schneik
Posts: 758
Registered: ‎04-05-2003
Message 3 of 4 (346 Views)

Re: Combining components for export/print

02-14-2013 12:51 PM in reply to: LeonMF

Try using gmesh to open the stl and then save as STL binary. This is something we are looking into.

 

Kevin Schneider


13" Macbook Pro Retina - OSX 10.9 in Portland, Oregon


Active Contributor
LeonMF
Posts: 34
Registered: ‎02-14-2013
Message 4 of 4 (339 Views)

Re: Combining components for export/print

02-14-2013 10:11 PM in reply to: LeonMF

Actually, I was a bit wrong earlier.  To get it to work I had to do the following:

 

  1. Export as SAT from Inventor Fusion
  2. Open SAT in IF and export as STL
  3. Open STL in Freecad
  4. Save as native in Freecad
  5. Export from Freecad as STL

The print came out fine with some odd printing artifacts around the joints that probably shouldn't be there.

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!