Inventor Fusion

Reply
Member
BillFargo3197
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎02-09-2011
Message 1 of 5 (299 Views)

Column forms

299 Views, 4 Replies
11-10-2012 09:55 AM

I am trying to create a set of columns that have a sweeping rope like (vine) feature going up them. I've had no luck starting with a torus and trying to modify it. I've looked at paths and sweeps. Sweeps are close except they want to just revolve when I need the tubes to be wraping up the column. Not just circling around it. Any suggestions? I can easily draw it in 2D but would rather end up with a 3D element.

 

Thanks in advance!

Board Manager
schneik
Posts: 757
Registered: ‎04-05-2003
Message 2 of 5 (294 Views)

Re: Column forms

11-10-2012 12:03 PM in reply to: BillFargo3197

This is going to be hard to do today. What you want is a 3d sketch where you can draw on the surface of your column. the sweep along that shape.  Fusion does not have this ability. You can fake it with a lot of work.

 

Create a surface that represents the outside of your column. create some offset workplanes and then daw some splines in these planes. split face on the surface. you proabably need to do several. then create a sweep aplong these split face edges.

2012-11-10 12.01.48 pm.png

Kevin Schneider


13" Macbook Pro Retina - OSX 10.9 in Portland, Oregon


Board Manager
schneik
Posts: 757
Registered: ‎04-05-2003
Message 3 of 5 (256 Views)

Re: Column forms

12-05-2012 09:06 PM in reply to: BillFargo3197

Were you able to make your forms?

Kevin Schneider


13" Macbook Pro Retina - OSX 10.9 in Portland, Oregon


Member
BillFargo3197
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎02-09-2011
Message 4 of 5 (248 Views)

Re: Column forms

12-06-2012 06:03 PM in reply to: BillFargo3197

Kevin,

 

Not really what I was looking for. When I get time I will put a sketch up for what I'm looking for. Though I said like a vine, it could be just a spiral tube wrapping up the column. I looked at making a series of Torus' and then trying to slice them but I couldn't figure a way to do it.  When I get time, I'll loop back on it. I can make it appear graphically correct in CAD. I was just hoping to be able to actually create it in Fusion.

Member
BillFargo3197
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎02-09-2011
Message 5 of 5 (245 Views)

Re: Column forms

12-06-2012 06:21 PM in reply to: BillFargo3197

I realized that drawing a screw would pretty much solve my problem. Though I'm not sure how I would do it in Fusion, I think I can figure it out in CAD.  Another post made me think of it.

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!