Inventor Fusion

Reply
Member
BradKereliuk
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎12-08-2012
Message 1 of 5 (437 Views)

CNC shops having issues with my .DWG

437 Views, 4 Replies
02-06-2013 08:26 PM

Hey there folks,

 

So I  created a part that I want produced by a cnc mill and long story short, that every mill I send the file to they cannot open it.

 

I tried sending them the 2013 .dwg and that didnt work so I sent the 2010 .dwg filetype and that is not working too. I attached the .dwg so you can see if I made some sort of mistake.

 

Please help! =D

Employee
SallyYang
Posts: 107
Registered: ‎07-31-2012
Message 2 of 5 (424 Views)

Re: CNC shops having issues with my .DWG

02-06-2013 10:43 PM in reply to: BradKereliuk

Please tell us the version of fusion and your OS info.

And what product that CNC shop used to open you DWG?

Regards,
Sally



Sally Yang
Software QA Engineer
Fusion 360 Quality Assurance Team
Autodesk, Inc.
Member
BradKereliuk
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎12-08-2012
Message 3 of 5 (416 Views)

Re: CNC shops having issues with my .DWG

02-08-2013 01:41 AM in reply to: SallyYang

I am using windows 7 and Inventor fusion 2013, and the shop is using the programs solid edge, mastercam and gibbscam.

*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 28,055
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 4 of 5 (409 Views)

Re: CNC shops having issues with my .DWG

02-08-2013 06:19 AM in reply to: BradKereliuk

I don't know if this has a bearing on the problem - but if I open in AutoCAD and run the List command it reports the geometry as Block Reference.

If I explode once then it lists 3D Solids which is what I suspect those programs are expecting.

Can you save in another format like STEP or IGES?
Do you have access to AutoCAD to explode the Block Reference?

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015-SP1 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Board Manager
schneik
Posts: 758
Registered: ‎04-05-2003
Message 5 of 5 (396 Views)

Re: CNC shops having issues with my .DWG

02-10-2013 08:20 PM in reply to: BradKereliuk

Try sending them STEP files. Other DWG translators might not be up to date or have ropblems reading 3D data in the DWG.

 

Kevin Schneider


13" Macbook Pro Retina - OSX 10.9 in Portland, Oregon


Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!