Announcements
Autodesk has retired Inventor Fusion. We recommend our customers to visit the Fusion 360 community for related inquiries.
Inventor Fusion (Read Only)
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Cannot copy / duplicate Body on Mac

18 REPLIES 18
Message 1 of 19
nf_able
6583 Views, 18 Replies

Cannot copy / duplicate Body on Mac

Perhaps I'm doing something incorrect; judging by what I can get out of the manual, if I right click on the body it should reveal an option to copy.  None is there.

If I select a body (it becomes blue) and select Copy from the edit menu, then paste nothing either.

I am very new to Autodesk and perhaps my PS brain is getting in the way for me to think of the browser breakdown like the 'layers' windows in PS.

Thanks for any help.

nf

Tags (3)
18 REPLIES 18
Message 2 of 19
schneik-adsk
in reply to: nf_able

Try this...

After you copy, click the top/root line in the browser to make sure that the object you selected to copy is no longer selected.

Then paste. 

I think what is happening is that the copied object is still selected when you try to paste. We can paste something into itself so the paste is failing.

You should see a new line get added to the browser if the paste works. You can then use move component, or joints to position the item.

We know the current workflow is a bit rough and will be making it better in the future.  Maybe you could reply with a few thought on what you think would make it better or easier?

Kevin Schneider
Message 3 of 19
frankwu
in reply to: schneik-adsk

Hey, Kevin, I was wondering about this very question earlier.