Inventor Fusion

Inventor Fusion

Reply
Active Member
mwittendorp
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎09-18-2012
Message 1 of 8 (517 Views)
Accepted Solution

3D model doesn't work anymore

517 Views, 7 Replies
09-18-2012 02:03 AM

Hello,

 

I work for two weeks now with inventor fusion and it's very easy in use and easy to learn. But i'm now working on a bigger complex model and I could not open my model anymore after that I saved it. I keep getting the error: unexpected error.

 

Another question can I determine the weight of a model when I've chosen the material?

 

Please help me 

Thank you

 

Martijn

Hi Martijn,

 

I'm sorry. It's created by NFusion 2013. AutoCAD 2012 cannot open it. I attached a new step file. You can try to open it using Fusion on your side,(I'm not sure, are you using Fusion 2012?).

 

About the weight, you can check the property of the Body/Component, following the steps on the pic.

 

Thanks

Cathy

Autodesk, Inc

 

(Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question)

 

.Property.png

 

 

 

Hi Martijn,

 

Thanks for you to use Fusion. Fusion is new product, so there is some limitation in Fusion 2012. We have new release on lab. You can try it.  They are Fusion2013 for Windows OS and Fusion TP1 for Mac OS.

http://labs.autodesk.com/technologies/fusion/downloadform

 

Yeah, I believe Fusion will be a professional 3D product. :smileyhappy:

 

PS, please try the attached sat format on your side, hope it can help you,

 

Thanks

Cathy

Autodesk. Inc.

Employee
Cathy.Wang_Autodesk
Posts: 75
Registered: ‎06-07-2007
Message 2 of 8 (515 Views)

Re: 3D model doesn't work anymore

09-18-2012 02:19 AM in reply to: mwittendorp

Hi Martijn

 

Thanks your question, I will take a look ASAP.

 

Cathy

Autodesk, Inc




Cathy Wang
Software QA Engineer
Fusion 360 Quality Assurance Team
Autodesk, Inc.
Employee
Cathy.Wang_Autodesk
Posts: 75
Registered: ‎06-07-2007
Message 3 of 8 (489 Views)

Re: 3D model doesn't work anymore

09-18-2012 08:04 PM in reply to: Cathy.Wang_Autodesk

Hi Martijn,

 

I think it's a bug which is about Cannot open the attached file. We will take a look. I attached another new file which is similar to your file, you can use it to continue your work. Hope it can help you.

 

Anther question about the weight of a model. You can add Physical Material to change the density and it can change the weight.

 

Thanks

Cathy

Autodesk, Inc

 

(Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question)




Cathy Wang
Software QA Engineer
Fusion 360 Quality Assurance Team
Autodesk, Inc.
Active Member
mwittendorp
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎09-18-2012
Message 4 of 8 (480 Views)

Re: 3D model doesn't work anymore

09-18-2012 10:54 PM in reply to: Cathy.Wang_Autodesk

Hi Cathy,

 

Thanks for you're quick response. I'll hope you find a solution for the problem. What I did is I downloaded the file but i couldn't open it in AutoCAD Fusion I get the message:

 

Failed to load file C:\.........\Nettenrek 3D.dwg   The file is currently in use or is read-only.

 

In AutoCAD 2012 I get the message:

 

The drawing file could not be opened because it was created with a more recent version of AutoCAD.

 

And about the weight of the model, I know how to change the Physical Material but how do I find the weight in kg or the volume of the model?

Employee
Cathy.Wang_Autodesk
Posts: 75
Registered: ‎06-07-2007
Message 5 of 8 (472 Views)

Re: 3D model doesn't work anymore

09-19-2012 02:03 AM in reply to: mwittendorp

Hi Martijn,

 

I'm sorry. It's created by NFusion 2013. AutoCAD 2012 cannot open it. I attached a new step file. You can try to open it using Fusion on your side,(I'm not sure, are you using Fusion 2012?).

 

About the weight, you can check the property of the Body/Component, following the steps on the pic.

 

Thanks

Cathy

Autodesk, Inc

 

(Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question)

 

.Property.png




Cathy Wang
Software QA Engineer
Fusion 360 Quality Assurance Team
Autodesk, Inc.
Active Member
mwittendorp
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎09-18-2012
Message 6 of 8 (465 Views)

Re: 3D model doesn't work anymore

09-19-2012 05:10 AM in reply to: Cathy.Wang_Autodesk

Hello Cathy,

 

Thanks again for you're quick reply. I found the button the determine the weight :smileyvery-happy: thanks. But I cannot open the *.stp file with fusion. My colleague could open the first version (that is in the first post) with AutoCAD 2013 but could not save it in a file name that would open it with Fusion, maybe this could help to fix the problem. I still don't know what it is :smileysad:

 

We try to use Fusion for the first 3D drawing at this company and I earliar did work with inventor solidworks hicad and unigraphics but I find more and more out that this software isn't for professional use within company's like mine. Maybe you could explain if Fusion is made for this or that it has furture plans to become a fully 3D drawing program.

 

 

Martijn

Employee
Cathy.Wang_Autodesk
Posts: 75
Registered: ‎06-07-2007
Message 7 of 8 (458 Views)

Re: 3D model doesn't work anymore

09-19-2012 06:44 PM in reply to: mwittendorp

 

 

 

Hi Martijn,

 

Thanks for you to use Fusion. Fusion is new product, so there is some limitation in Fusion 2012. We have new release on lab. You can try it.  They are Fusion2013 for Windows OS and Fusion TP1 for Mac OS.

http://labs.autodesk.com/technologies/fusion/downloadform

 

Yeah, I believe Fusion will be a professional 3D product. :smileyhappy:

 

PS, please try the attached sat format on your side, hope it can help you,

 

Thanks

Cathy

Autodesk. Inc.




Cathy Wang
Software QA Engineer
Fusion 360 Quality Assurance Team
Autodesk, Inc.
Active Member
mwittendorp
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎09-18-2012
Message 8 of 8 (454 Views)

Re: 3D model doesn't work anymore

09-19-2012 10:46 PM in reply to: Cathy.Wang_Autodesk

Hi Cathy,

 

This one works in fusion 2012 thank you.

 

I hope it will be a fully 3D product and can keep up with solidworks and inventor but for now i think it is more useful for people how want to try 3D designing. And not for companies how need professional drawings and need that the program works. 

 

Martijn

 

 

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.