Inventor Customization

Inventor Customization

Distinguished Contributor
tdswanson
Message 1 of 25 (982 Views)
Accepted Solution

Use VBA to Add Qty Req'd to Custom Properties for Components from the ****'y?

982 Views, 24 Replies
09-28-2012 09:04 AM

Hello:

I'd like to create a macro that I can run from within an assembly that will loop through each BOM item and add the quantity req'd to a custom property within the component.  I'm very familiar with VBA from Office, but I'm new to it with respect to Inventor so I'm pretty fuzzy with object titles and options.  Can someone assist with the coding?

Here's an outline of what I'd like to do:

Execute Macro from within Assembly file

For Each BOM Item to # of BOM Items

If Vendor = "Make" then

Set Component Custom Property "Qty_Reqd" = Total Qty from BOM

Endif

Next BOM Item

Can someone help and/or Is there an easier way?

Thanks!!

Inventor 2015 64-bit
Win 7 Pro 64-bit SP1

Sorry for the long delay on this. My weekend turned out to be full of thrills and chills, leaving little time for Inventor. 

No matter, I think that I've cracked. Give the following code a try and tell me if it works correctly for your full assemblies. 

I would suggest that instead of trying to tie this into an iTrigger, you simply set it up on a normal ilogic Rule Event Trigger (perhaps even as an external rule).

Go to the Manage tab, and select Event Triggers (iLogic section above iTrigger). Double click on Before Save Document to open up the Rule Association Browser, and select the iLogic rule that contains my code. After that , just make sure that the top check box “Run these rules when events occur” is checked on the main Rules Triggered by Events box, then hit OK.

As for learning these things, it has been a combination of a few very awesome blogs, this community, and stumbling around the Inventor Object Library in VBA.