Inventor Customization

Reply
*Expert Elite*
karthur1
Posts: 4,197
Registered: ‎04-27-2005
Message 71 of 87 (716 Views)

Re: Sheet Metal Extents

10-25-2012 12:28 PM in reply to: Mike.Wohletz

I really had to bring this up... but I am having trouble with this again.  When I create a new part and flatten it, I get the SM extents in the parameters.  Problems start when I make a change to the part. As soon as I exit the sketch, I get an error "Unexpected error while updating the property values with the sheet metal extents.  The results should not be used.".

 

2012-10-25_1420.png

 

Of course, when I check the parameters, the value is not correct.  I can do a Manage>Rebuild and that will update the parameter values. Then if I make another change to the sketch, I get the error again.

 

I am using the .dll that is in Mike's .zip file above on 5-1-2012.`

 

I am running SP1.1..... not sure if that is what broke this or not.

 

Anyone else seeing this?

 

Kirk A.

Windows 7 x64 -12 GB Ram
Intel i7-930 @ 3.60ghz
nVidia GTS 250 -1GB (Driver 301.42)
INV Pro R2013, SP1.1
Vault 2013

Mentor
RobJV
Posts: 534
Registered: ‎07-14-2004
Message 72 of 87 (708 Views)

Re: Sheet Metal Extents

10-25-2012 01:39 PM in reply to: karthur1

I just installed SP1 today and will let you know if i notice anything.  I use this addin daily so will let you know ASAP.

 

I will tell you that since running 2013 with this addin, I have noticed that message way more than in the past.  I know some of the things that will cause that message every time like holes and cuts in the sheetmetal part or holes made by the bolted connection generator.  I have definitely noticed that I need to perform rebuilds more often at the part level to ensure the addin is giving me the most up to date numbers.

 

Rob

*Expert Elite*
karthur1
Posts: 4,197
Registered: ‎04-27-2005
Message 73 of 87 (685 Views)

Re: Sheet Metal Extents

10-30-2012 01:10 PM in reply to: karthur1

As an alternative, here is the iLogic code to do this.

Valued Mentor
BLHDrafting
Posts: 350
Registered: ‎10-12-2012
Message 74 of 87 (666 Views)

Re: Sheet Metal Extents

10-30-2012 08:28 PM in reply to: karthur1

I loved this dll add-on but gave up on it a few months ago because of this problem. What I ended up doing was using the same function from iPropWiz (http://www.ipropwiz.com/index.html) which I already had (and thoroughly recommend) and mapped the 2 custom properties I needed (SheetMetalLength and SheetMetalWidth) to the 2 iPropWiz properties (ipwFlatExtentsX and ipwFlatExtentsY).

Brendan Henderson

Web www.blh.com.au
Twitter @BLHDrafting

Windows 7 x64 -64 GB Ram, Intel Xeon E5-1620 @ 3.6 GHz
ATI FirePro V7800 2 GB, 180 GB SSD & 1 TB HDD, Inv R2013 PDS Premium SP2 Update 3 (Build 200), Vault 2013 Workgroup Update 2 (Build 17.2.9.0)
*Expert Elite*
karthur1
Posts: 4,197
Registered: ‎04-27-2005
Message 75 of 87 (658 Views)

Re: Sheet Metal Extents

10-31-2012 05:57 AM in reply to: BLHDrafting

Brendan,

There is a slight difference between the iLogic code and the mapping that you are doing with iPropsWiz.  The iLogic code above actually writes the SheetMetalLength and SheetMetalWidth as user parameters in the part properties. The parameters are then used in the idw parts lists.

 

The way that I have our idws set-up (from way back), one column is the "Cutlength" and this is mapped to the sheetmetallength in the user parameters.

 

Not saying either way is right or wrong, its just a different way to skin the cat.:smileyhappy:

 

Kirk

*Expert Elite*
karthur1
Posts: 4,197
Registered: ‎04-27-2005
Message 76 of 87 (645 Views)

Re: Sheet Metal Extents

10-31-2012 09:33 AM in reply to: karthur1

Trying to correct this issue, I tried the three different methods that Brian talks about on his blog.  I could not get any of them to work, but I was able to use the .dll from the Installer method.

 

I used the old "Install_64.bat" to get it installed, then overwrote the old dll with the one from the Installer method.  It works now.

ADN Support Specialist
ekinsb
Posts: 300
Registered: ‎07-21-2006
Message 77 of 87 (617 Views)

Re: Sheet Metal Extents

11-05-2012 04:25 PM in reply to: karthur1

Sorry for the delay in responding.  I have found a problem.  Attached is a new installer.  It will install the add-in along with a zip file that contains the source code.  Let me know if there are any problems running it.



Brian Ekins
Developer Technical Services
Autodesk Developer Network
Autodesk, Inc.
New Member
sskogh
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎01-24-2013
Message 78 of 87 (430 Views)

Re: Sheet Metal Extents

05-01-2013 05:00 AM in reply to: karthur1

How do you change the rule if you do not want to use inches. (mm)

Active Member
JKHouston
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎03-20-2013
Message 79 of 87 (409 Views)

Re: Sheet Metal Extents

05-03-2013 04:40 AM in reply to: ekinsb

Thanks for the update, this corrected my install problem!

 

Regards,

John


ekinsb wrote:

Sorry for the delay in responding.  I have found a problem.  Attached is a new installer.  It will install the add-in along with a zip file that contains the source code.  Let me know if there are any problems running it.


 

Active Member
eric
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎04-14-2011
Message 80 of 87 (355 Views)

Re: Sheet Metal Extents

05-22-2013 07:18 AM in reply to: ekinsb
Can you update this code to run in 2014 please.
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.