Inventor Customization

Reply
Valued Contributor
simonsson
Posts: 86
Registered: ‎07-13-2007
Message 1 of 5 (1,373 Views)
Accepted Solution

SaveAs Stp

1373 Views, 4 Replies
09-30-2010 06:29 AM

I'm trying to start up Inventor, open an assembly and save it to stp using API (C#).

 

This works perfectly fine with parts, but not with assemblies.

 

doc.SaveAs("fil.stp", true); // doc is an iam-file (Inventor.Document)

 

...gives me error: "Invalid parameter... HRESULT: 0x80070057 (E_INVALIDARG))".

 

I start up Inventor visually so I know that the assembly opens up correctly with all parts and subassemblies.

If I do it manually it works fine with Export -> CAD Format -> STEP (stp).

 

Does anyone have any ideas why or what I'm doing wrong?

 

Thanks!

 

I found the problem. Inventor was not ready loading when I opened the assembly. Thanks!

Board Manager
sanjay.ramaswamy
Posts: 110
Registered: ‎11-13-2007
Message 2 of 5 (1,369 Views)

Re: SaveAs Stp

09-30-2010 11:57 AM in reply to: simonsson

Can you try providing that full path for the output file, rather than just "fil.stp"? I tried the following VBA macro on the active assembly document in Inventor 2011 and it works for me.

 

Sub SaveAsSTP()

    Dim oDoc As Document
    Set oDoc = ThisApplication.ActiveDocument
    
    Call oDoc.SaveAs("C:\temp\test.stp", True)
    
End Sub

 

Valued Contributor
simonsson
Posts: 86
Registered: ‎07-13-2007
Message 3 of 5 (1,357 Views)

Re: SaveAs Stp

10-01-2010 02:46 AM in reply to: sanjay.ramaswamy

I found the problem. Inventor was not ready loading when I opened the assembly. Thanks!

New Member
Belero
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎03-28-2011
Message 4 of 5 (1,062 Views)

Re: SavAs Step

03-28-2011 01:42 AM in reply to: simonsson

Hi,

 

Would it be possible to add options for the step export within the code?

Specifically, does the export step have savecopyas options that can be set just like in the dxf/pdf translator addin?

 

Goal: I want to preset the export options for the step file.

 

options I would like to "grab" & "set":

- Application Protocol: 203 or 214, then 214 alone, 214 IS or 214 DIS.

- Include Sketches (True/False I guess)

 

 

regards

 

Valued Mentor
Ktelang
Posts: 287
Registered: ‎09-23-2010
Message 5 of 5 (659 Views)

Re: SaveAs Stp

11-14-2012 07:46 AM in reply to: sanjay.ramaswamy

How can I access the saving options.

I want to exclude the sketches while saving as stp

------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Config :: Intel (R) Xeon (R) CPU E31245 @ 3.30 GHz, 16.0 GB, 64bit win7
Inventor 2013 and Vault Basic 2013
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.