Inventor Customization

Reply
Mentor
bsee1
Posts: 211
Registered: ‎11-14-2011
Message 1 of 3 (180 Views)
Accepted Solution

Panel width bug

180 Views, 2 Replies
08-30-2012 05:35 AM

Can anyone confirm this for me? (I'm testing in Inventor 2013)

 

Inventor appears to measure the width of a panel by measuring it's distance from the edge of the screen.  This only works if that panel is docked directly to the edge of the screen.  In my case, there is a panel between the one I'm inserting and the edge of the screen.

 

To test, insert a docked panel. Retrieve its width when it is docked to the very edge of the screen, and also when it is docked to another panel.  The actual width of the panel remains the same, but Inventor will report the width to be much larger.

*****************************
Win7 x64 - 16gb ram
i7 3610qm
FirePro M4000

Inventor 2013
ETO 6.1

Hi,

 

I can reproduce this issue. It looks if the dock pane window docks with any other docked pane (no matter the pane is docked left or right), the custom dock pane returns the width from the left edge. I logged this issue with engineer team.

 

A kindly reminding: if you find issue, please try to isolate and share a small. buildable sample project. This will help the peers in the board to take a look and diagnose. I just happened to have a small project, so gave a test.

ADN Support Specialist
xiaodong.liang
Posts: 1,274
Registered: ‎06-12-2011
Message 2 of 3 (149 Views)

Re: Panel width bug

09-04-2012 06:32 PM in reply to: bsee1

Hi,

 

I can reproduce this issue. It looks if the dock pane window docks with any other docked pane (no matter the pane is docked left or right), the custom dock pane returns the width from the left edge. I logged this issue with engineer team.

 

A kindly reminding: if you find issue, please try to isolate and share a small. buildable sample project. This will help the peers in the board to take a look and diagnose. I just happened to have a small project, so gave a test.



Xiaodong Liang
Developer Technical Services
Autodesk Developer Network

Mentor
bsee1
Posts: 211
Registered: ‎11-14-2011
Message 3 of 3 (138 Views)

Re: Panel width bug

09-05-2012 04:44 AM in reply to: xiaodong.liang

Thanks for confirming. Hopefully there is some kind of hotfix or workaround available in the near future.

*****************************
Win7 x64 - 16gb ram
i7 3610qm
FirePro M4000

Inventor 2013
ETO 6.1
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.