Community
Inventor Programming - iLogic, Macros, AddIns & Apprentice
Inventor iLogic, Macros, AddIns & Apprentice Forum. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics related to programming, creating add-ins, macros, working with the API or creating iLogic tools.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Ipart/ILogic Part with filtering

5 REPLIES 5
Message 1 of 6
ProfileLightingLtd
358 Views, 5 Replies

Ipart/ILogic Part with filtering

Hi All

I am quite new to inventor and dont really know the question I need to ask google to find the answer.

I am trying to find a method in which to create a component that I can control via an excel spread sheet. This will be a basic extruded rectangle with a couple of fixing holes that I need to control. Currently I have a Length, width, hight and fixing centres parameters.

There are 532 items to this part. I tried iPart it worked but I keep getting error messages, If iPart is the correct route I will persue it more but I would like a bit more funtunallty with regards to filtering which I dont think iPart offers from reading.

I would like to know if I can add text fields that I can then filter against. So for example 100 of the parts are used for senario A, 200 for senario B etc.. Is there a way of assigning text fields that I can filter against like in excel so the list is reduced with each filter applied.

Thank you

5 REPLIES 5
Message 2 of 6
wimann
in reply to: ProfileLightingLtd

So it seemss you've already linked the parameters to excel and that's all fine and good.

I'm looking at this "532 items to this part". What exactly does that mean? It has 532 purposes? 532 individual parts need to be made? 532 variants?

In any case, you can probably set up what you're trying to do pretty easily. If you're going for a number of parts you could say:

"

if part_no < 100 then

suppressthis

changethat

else if 100 >= part_no <200 then

suppressthis

changethat