Community
Inventor Programming - iLogic, Macros, AddIns & Apprentice
Inventor iLogic, Macros, AddIns & Apprentice Forum. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics related to programming, creating add-ins, macros, working with the API or creating iLogic tools.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

iLogic drawing population using presentation views

9 REPLIES 9
Message 1 of 10
adam
1021 Views, 9 Replies

iLogic drawing population using presentation views

I'm very new to both iLogic and programming. I've poked around a little and made simple rules to manipulate iproperties, save filetypes, change drawing borders etc. but am now looking for a bit more and am struggling (i.e. completely lost.)
I want to automate the creation of an assembly drawing from an existing presentation file. Here is the basic break-down:

Assumed Pre-Requisites:
- Using Inventor 2011
- Presentation(*.ipn) file is present and saved in same directory
- Each presentation VIEW is numbered and named (e.g. "1 - PCB Installation", "2 - Battery Insertion", etc.)

iLogic/VBA Code should:
- Select presentation file (either auto or allow user browse/select)
- Create a page in the drawing (*.idw) for each VIEW from the presentation file
- Create a base view on each page for each presentation VIEW (in numbered order)
- Each base view orientation will be derived from Saved Camera
- Each drawing page will be named using the name from the corresponding presentation VIEW name
- Each page will have a prompted entry in the Title Block that will be defaulted to the presentation VIEW name

If anyone can give me a few pointers on how to help accomplish this, I'd really appreciate it. I can't find anything in the iLogic menus, help, forums etc. deal at all with presentation files/views/cameras.
Thanks!

9 REPLIES 9
Message 2 of 10
adam.nagy
in reply to: adam

Hi,

I wrote this in VBA but should be possible to convert it to iLogic code: