Community
Inventor Programming - iLogic, Macros, AddIns & Apprentice
Inventor iLogic, Macros, AddIns & Apprentice Forum. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics related to programming, creating add-ins, macros, working with the API or creating iLogic tools.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

how to get length in bom

6 REPLIES 6
Message 1 of 7
lithnes_be
5118 Views, 6 Replies

how to get length in bom

we are doing a customization of part in inventor , where we have done fork plate with constaints in model and extruding it with inputs from excel sheet. the plate size is getting changed as per the input given excel sheet.

but during the 2d drawing generation, if i take bom - the length and width columns are not coming. please advice how to do it? since i am new to inventor

6 REPLIES 6
Message 2 of 7

Hi 

Sorry, I don't get the exact meaning of your question, you would need to be more descriptive about what you are trying to achieve, what you expect and provide some code if you think it is relevant.

Are you looking for having your parameters visible as BOM columns? If that's the case, then it is not directly doable. You first have to expose the parameter as iProperty, then from BOM dialog you can insert an iProperty as BOM column.

Regards,

Philippe.

Philippe Leefsma
Developer Technical Services
Autodesk Developer Network

Message 3 of 7

hi

thank for your reply,

my problem is - i am using parametric modelling for creating the part using a excel sheet input parameter.

so, once i created the part using excel input parameter, i am generating the 2d DRAWING FROM that model.

in 2d Drawing Bom, i wnat to include the input i have given in the excel sheet for the making the model. so that i will have part desription and length, width, thickness etc in my BOM as given in excel input sheet during modelling.

Please advice.

Message 4 of 7

Alright,