Community
Inventor Programming - iLogic, Macros, AddIns & Apprentice
Inventor iLogic, Macros, AddIns & Apprentice Forum. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics related to programming, creating add-ins, macros, working with the API or creating iLogic tools.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to Execute Code?

4 REPLIES 4
SOLVED
Message 1 of 5
DeerSpotter
604 Views, 4 Replies

How to Execute Code?

Hey, im brand new to inventor and i was given this code to use in my assembly. How to execute it? I never did this before.

Any help will be appreciated with a smile 🙂

I am using inventor 2010 / routing

thanks!

Sub CreateDerivedPartFromAssembly()

'Set a reference to the current assembly document.
    Dim AsmDoc As AssemblyDocument
    Set AsmDoc = ThisApplication.ActiveDocument

'Create the name of the new part
    Dim PartFileName As String
    PartFileName = Left(AsmDoc.FullDocumentName, Len(AsmDoc.FullDocumentName) - 4) & ".ipt"

'Make a new part file
    Dim oPartDoc As PartDocument
    Set oPartDoc = ThisApplication.Documents.Add(kPartDocumentObject, ThisApplication.FileManager.GetTemplateFile(kPartDocumentObject))

'Create a derived part feature
    Dim oDerivedAsmDef As DerivedAssemblyDefinition
    Set oDerivedAsmDef = oPartDoc.ComponentDefinition.ReferenceComponents.DerivedAssemblyComponents.CreateDefinition(AsmDoc.FullDocumentName)

Call oPartDoc.ComponentDefinition.ReferenceComponents.DerivedAssemblyComponents.Add(oDerivedAsmDef)

'Break the link to the assembly
    oPartDoc.ComponentDefinition.ReferenceComponents.DerivedAssemblyComponents.Item(1).BreakLinkToFile

'Copy the iProperties from the assembly to the part
    Dim Text As String
    oPartDoc.PropertySets.Item("Design Tracking Properties").Item("Description").value = _
            AsmDoc.PropertySets.Item("Design Tracking Properties").Item("Description").value