Inventor Customization

Inventor Customization

Reply
Contributor
heyjude19
Posts: 24
Registered: ‎01-01-2013
Message 1 of 4 (133 Views)
Accepted Solution

Divide a segment equally with a range in visual basic

133 Views, 3 Replies
01-15-2013 05:44 PM

How do you divide a segment equally with a range in visual basic?

 

example-

length is 144 in

range- 7.5 - 9in

answer- (18) at (range 8 in)

 

like to know how to do this in Visual Basic so I can create some rules and forms in iLogic

thx

Hi there,

 

There are loads of ways to do this. Here is one:

 

Sub Demo()
Dim Length As Double
Dim Range As Double
Length = 144
Range = 8
MsgBox (Answer(Length, Range))
End Sub
Function Answer(L As Double, R As Double)
Answer = L / R
End Function

This should be a start for you

 

Cheers

 

Jon.

Valued Contributor
jonbrabbs
Posts: 76
Registered: ‎07-26-2007
Message 2 of 4 (126 Views)

Re: Divide a segment equally with a range in visual basic

01-15-2013 11:48 PM in reply to: heyjude19

Hi there,

 

There are loads of ways to do this. Here is one:

 

Sub Demo()
Dim Length As Double
Dim Range As Double

    Length = 144
    Range = 8

    MsgBox (Answer(Length, Range))
End Sub

Function Answer(L As Double, R As Double)
    Answer = L / R
End Function

This should be a start for you

 

Cheers

 

Jon.

///////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////
If this post helps you, please give kudos.
\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\
Contributor
heyjude19
Posts: 24
Registered: ‎01-01-2013
Message 3 of 4 (119 Views)

Re: Divide a segment equally with a range in visual basic

01-16-2013 04:34 AM in reply to: jonbrabbs

Thanks Jon

- can this be done within the parameters instead of iLogic?

Valued Contributor
jonbrabbs
Posts: 76
Registered: ‎07-26-2007
Message 4 of 4 (112 Views)

Re: Divide a segment equally with a range in visual basic

01-16-2013 06:55 AM in reply to: heyjude19

Yes, it's not difficult, but can be tricky and frustrating! Parameters can be pretty fickle when it comes to units.

 

If you have:

 

d0 = Length (in)

d1 = Range (in)

d2 = Answer/Segments (ul)

 

Note that the inch units cancel each other to give a unitless value (in/in = ul). 

 

Cheers

 

Jon.

 

 

///////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////
If this post helps you, please give kudos.
\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.