Community
Inventor Programming - iLogic, Macros, AddIns & Apprentice
Inventor iLogic, Macros, AddIns & Apprentice Forum. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics related to programming, creating add-ins, macros, working with the API or creating iLogic tools.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Constraining a sketch

1 REPLY 1
SOLVED
Message 1 of 2
mmdmc
440 Views, 1 Reply

Constraining a sketch

Hi,

I'm new to the API and coding in Inventor and just did the My First Plugin tutorial. What I'm trying to do is take a completely unconstrained rectangle in a sketch, constrain it (horizontal + 2x perpendicular), dimension it, add a diagonal construction line, and add a coincident to place the construction line's midpoint to the origin. The sketch is not created in the API. Its name also varies. I'm having trouble just accessing the lines through the API, and keep getting an error when I do Debug.Print to check if I'm accessing things correctly. Using the the VBA editor, I figured out the tree should be something like ThisApplication.ActiveDocument.ComponentDefinition.Sketches.Item 1.SketchLines.Item 1. Of course there are spaces in there so I know I'm doing something wrong. What am I missing?

Thanks

1 REPLY 1
Message 2 of 2
ekinsb
in reply to: mmdmc

You're understanding the basic concept of the object model hierarchy and how to access a specific object but now just need to get the details of how to use it.

Here's what you've got so far:

ThisApplication.ActiveDocument.ComponentDefinition​.Sketches.Item 1.SketchLines.Item 1

It's important to understand what this long statement is actually doing and it's useful to break it up, both to make your code easier to understand, but also to debug and it will help make your program run faster.