Community
Inventor Programming - iLogic, Macros, AddIns & Apprentice
Inventor iLogic, Macros, AddIns & Apprentice Forum. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics related to programming, creating add-ins, macros, working with the API or creating iLogic tools.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Call webservices from Inventor Addin

11 REPLIES 11
SOLVED
Message 1 of 12
FRPT1257
674 Views, 11 Replies

Call webservices from Inventor Addin

I am using some webservices in my Inventor Addin (as previous in Office Addin), and I am using App.config to define webservices path.

The Inventor addin is not assuming the webservices paths defined in App.config.

In Office addin worked perfect.

What could be?

Thanks & Regards,

Rui

11 REPLIES 11
Message 2 of 12
philippe.leefsma
in reply to: FRPT1257

I'm not an expert in Office add-ins, but a simple way I'm solving that with Inventor add-ins is to have an addin.config file located in the same directory than my add-in dll, then I load the config at runtime.

Here is an example where I instanciate a WPF service from my add-in:

FileInfo fi = new FileInfo(
    System.Reflection.Assembly.GetExecutingAssembly().Location);

string configPath = fi.DirectoryName + "\\" + "addin.config";

Configuration config = 
    ConfigurationManager.OpenMappedExeConfiguration(
        new ExeConfigurationFileMap { ExeConfigFilename = configPath },
        ConfigurationUserLevel.None);

ConfigurationChannelFactory<IAdnViewerConsoleSrv> channelFactory =
    new ConfigurationChannelFactory<IAdnViewerConsoleSrv>(
        "WCFClientEndpoint", 
        config, 
        null);

_serviceClient = channelFactory.CreateChannel();

Hope that helps,

Philippe.

Philippe Leefsma
Developer Technical Services
Autodesk Developer Network

Message 3 of 12
FRPT1257
in reply to: philippe.leefsma