Community
Inventor Programming - iLogic, Macros, AddIns & Apprentice
Inventor iLogic, Macros, AddIns & Apprentice Forum. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics related to programming, creating add-ins, macros, working with the API or creating iLogic tools.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Autodesk Inventor Wizards for Microsoft Visual Studio 2012 express ?

13 REPLIES 13
SOLVED
Message 1 of 14
Anonymous
4287 Views, 13 Replies

Autodesk Inventor Wizards for Microsoft Visual Studio 2012 express ?

Hello,

I am a novice in Inventor customization. I have already  MS visual c# and vb.net 2010 express editions installed on my computer. As you know 2010 express editions have to be installed as a separate software.

I decided to try new MS 2012 visual studio express edition the other day. 2012 version is very comfortable to use because it allows to make vb.net, c#, C++ projects. Actually I use c# as the main language to study and vb.net as the secondary. The problem is that Autodesk Inventor Wizard installation package (Inventor 2013) doesn't work with MS visual studio 2012 express edition, therefore there is no Inventor AddIn template in Visual studio project creation window.

Does anybody has any ideas how to install Autodesk Inventor Wizard from Autodesk SDK package over MS Visual studio 2012? Is there any manual approaches to do that and how it will work?

13 REPLIES 13
Message 2 of 14
rjay75
in reply to: Anonymous

I recently was trying to do the same thing with Visual Studio 2012. Got it to extract the template an install.

Download the DeveloperTools msi. Extract the files using this method. http://superuser.com/questions/307678/how-to-extract-files-from-msi-package.

Copy the file VCSInventorAddInTemplate2013.zip to this location C:\Users\{USER NAME}\Documents\Visual Studio 2012\Templates\ProjectTemplates\Visual C#.

When you restart Visual Studio the template should be there.