Inventor Customization

Inventor Customization

Reply
Contributor
jasmin_javier
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎09-09-2008
Message 1 of 7 (307 Views)

Adding Feature Control Frames to Dimension

307 Views, 6 Replies
09-10-2008 03:04 AM
I can add FeatureControlFrames in a DrawingCurve but i can't do it in Generaldimension..
Can you please help me on how I can add Feature Control
Frames in GeneralDimension..
*Sanjay Ramaswamy \(Autodesk\)
Message 2 of 7 (307 Views)

Re: Adding Feature Control Frames to Dimension

09-10-2008 12:21 PM in reply to: jasmin_javier
The mechanism to add the FCF to a dimension is very similar. When creating a
GeometryIntent to attach the FCF to, use the dimension as the first argument
in Sheet.CreateGeometryIntent and a point on the dimension as the 2nd
argument. The point on the dimension (a Point2d) must lie on the dimension
line or the extension lines of the dimension. Use the DimensionLine,
ExtensionLineOne and ExtensionLineTwo properties on a dimension to get the
dimension geometries and make sure the input point lies on one of those.

Sanjay-
*Neil Munro
Message 3 of 7 (307 Views)

Re: Adding Feature Control Frames to Dimension

09-10-2008 02:37 PM in reply to: jasmin_javier
Sanjay,

In the Inventor UI you can attach a FCF to the dimension text as well (Snaps
to any of 8 positions around the dimension text). Can a GeometryIntent
object be generated for these points?

Neil


"Sanjay Ramaswamy (Autodesk)" wrote in message
news:6028389@discussion.autodesk.com...
The mechanism to add the FCF to a dimension is very similar. When creating a
GeometryIntent to attach the FCF to, use the dimension as the first argument
in Sheet.CreateGeometryIntent and a point on the dimension as the 2nd
argument. The point on the dimension (a Point2d) must lie on the dimension
line or the extension lines of the dimension. Use the DimensionLine,
ExtensionLineOne and ExtensionLineTwo properties on a dimension to get the
dimension geometries and make sure the input point lies on one of those.

Sanjay-
*Sanjay Ramaswamy \(Autodesk\)
Message 4 of 7 (307 Views)

Re: Adding Feature Control Frames to Dimension

09-10-2008 04:14 PM in reply to: jasmin_javier
If I remember correctly, you can specify the dimension text origin as the
2nd argument to CreateGeometryIntent (the dimension being the first
argument). This will attach the FCF to the dim text origin. There isn't any
support to attach to the other (corner) points of the text. This will be
dealt with in the future.

Sanjay-
Contributor
jasmin_javier
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎09-09-2008
Message 5 of 7 (307 Views)

Re: Adding Feature Control Frames to Dimension

09-10-2008 07:07 PM in reply to: jasmin_javier
Thank you for your help..
Member
st_work
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎10-04-2012
Message 6 of 7 (225 Views)

Re: Adding Feature Control Frames to Dimension

10-19-2012 01:39 PM in reply to: *Sanjay Ramaswamy \(Autodesk\)

Sanjay,

 

Can you please let me know what went wrong? I am trying to place a feature control frame to a retrieved dimension. I was creating the GeometryIntent as you suggested.

Thanks.

 

 

intent1 = invSheet.CreateGeometryIntent(invGeneralDims.Item(4).DimensionLine, pt1) ' pt1 is a Point2d along the dimension line.

oLeaderPoints.Add(pt1)

oLeaderPoints.Add(intent1)

 

featureControlRow = invSheet.FeatureControlFrames.CreateFeatureControlFrameRows.Add(

GeometricCharacteristicEnum.kTotalRunout, "0.001", , "A", "B")

featureControl = invSheet.FeatureControlFrames.Add(oLeaderPoints, featureControlRow,False, "C") ' Program fails here.

ADN Support Specialist
xiaodong.liang
Posts: 1,273
Registered: ‎06-12-2011
Message 7 of 7 (204 Views)

Re: Adding Feature Control Frames to Dimension

10-26-2012 03:40 AM in reply to: st_work

Hi,

 

it is a bit hard to diagnose with code snippet only. Could you compare with the Inventor API sample to check which is wrong at your side? The sample is AddFeatureControlFrame. I took a snapshot for your convenience.

 

 



Xiaodong Liang
Developer Technical Services
Autodesk Developer Network

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.