Installation & Licensing

Installation & Licensing

Reply
Member
zyrebel
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎01-16-2012
Message 1 of 6 (1,765 Views)

Windows 8 pro 3ds Max issue

1765 Views, 5 Replies
01-17-2013 06:18 PM

I can not get any of the autodesk programs to run on my new laptop that runs windows 8. I got 3ds max to install but I can not do anything in the program. I downloaded 2012 and 2013 and if i try to open up a file it just fails to load.

 

Any help would be great,

 

 

specs:
windows 8 pro
Intel Core i7 3840QM Quad-Core 2.80GHz
Single 2GB GDDR5 NVIDIA Quadro K3000M

*Expert Elite*
DarrenP
Posts: 7,575
Registered: ‎09-13-2007
Message 2 of 6 (1,763 Views)

Re: Windows 8 pro 3ds Max issue

01-17-2013 06:35 PM in reply to: zyrebel

what do you mean you can't do anything?

you need to be more specific

 

Member
zyrebel
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎01-16-2012
Message 3 of 6 (1,761 Views)

Re: Windows 8 pro 3ds Max issue

01-17-2013 06:45 PM in reply to: zyrebel

I mean I can not move the screen, can not place objects the window is just there i can not import anything I got one thing to start to merge and it crashed. 

Product Support
dembkod
Posts: 652
Registered: ‎05-26-2010
Message 4 of 6 (1,731 Views)

Re: Windows 8 pro 3ds Max issue

01-18-2013 11:56 AM in reply to: zyrebel

zyrebel,

 

Are you logged in with an admin account? Have you tried adjusting your graphics card settings? It sounds like a possible corrupt install. Have you tried removing, deleting residual folders and reinstalling? I would expect to find MAX folders here:

C:\Program Files\Autodesk\

C:\ProgramData\Autodesk\

C:\Program Files (x86)\Autodesk\

C:\Users\All Users\Autodesk\

C:\Users\**YOUR USERID**\AppData\Roaming\Autodesk\

C:\Users\**YOUR USERID**\AppData\Local\Autodesk\

 

When installing, I would only install one program at a time in this case.

 

Are you using any special interface devices? A special mouse, or 3d mouse or tablet? If so, I would uninstall. It may be worth checking the Windows Event Viewer as well to see if there is a listed module causing grief.

 

Thank you for taking part in our community!

 

David Dembkoski

 

ADSK_logo_S_black_web.png

Product Support Specialist

Autodesk Product Support



David Dembkoski
Active Member
p.germanier
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎09-17-2012
Message 5 of 6 (1,697 Views)

Re: Windows 8 pro 3ds Max issue

01-23-2013 03:24 AM in reply to: zyrebel

Hello,

 

I have the same problem with AutoCAD Civil 3D 2013 (SP 1) on my notebook (HP EliteBook 8770w - with Windows 8 x64 and NVIDIA Quadro K3000m). When I use a Civil 3D command, the program crashes.

 

I suspect a problem of driver of graphics card. I try with default driver (some commands work before the crash) and with last release of driver (the crash appears with the fist command). I don't find specific driver for AutoCAD on the NVIDIA website.

 

For information, Civil 3D work fine in a virtual machine (Windows 7 x64) on my Windows 8 notebook!

 

I hope about a solution ... in the near future...

 

Best regards,

 

      philippe

 

 

*Expert Elite*
DarrenP
Posts: 7,575
Registered: ‎09-13-2007
Message 6 of 6 (1,683 Views)

Re: Windows 8 pro 3ds Max issue

01-23-2013 06:02 AM in reply to: p.germanier

windows 8 isn't a supported OS for civil 3d 2013

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!